Cycling in Amsterdam!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)


I am still in awe of this city and how people get around. While it seems chaotic when you see it first, it is actually incredibly efficient and cost effective. There are no bridges across the Rijnkanaal in the city centre of Amsterdam because of the enormous working boats carrying construction material up and down the river to man-made Holland!!

God made the world but the Dutch made Holland!


Because there are no bridges there are regular ferries and by regular I mean as soon as one leaves there is another mooring! These ferries are free and accomodate all kinds of passengers. Generally cars don't fit but you would be surprised what people will drive!!

So the ferries are free and so is the parking for your bikes. All of this along with the wide bicycle lanes mean they can take you all over the Netherlands, make it wonderfully easy to get around with no expense! And you see proof that this keeps them fit when you see people in their 80s (sometimes in their Sunday best) travelling around on their bikes!
And it's not just the people who benefit from this healthy mode of transport but also the economy and the atmosphere because there are less cars and less fumes and less need for the country to spend on oil!
Cycling here is different to most places because of the number of cyclists and the need for rules. Nobody told me these rules but I assumed I should stay on the right side and then from being shouted at from behind a few times I realised people do not overtake on the right if you give them room so you MUST give room on your left for overtakers.
So there are rules that are just abided by but not really outlined or indicated anywhere on the roads. Try not to fall off your bike if a motorbike comes up beside you! If you are renting a bike be aware that bikes here might not be what you're used to . As there are no hills there are no gears and if you're really unlucky and get a 'high Nelly' like mine you might have to learn to ride all over again! You have to find your balance because you have to pedal a few seconds before the chain catches and you actually start moving. This took me a few tries but once I got the hang of it I was headed straight for the canal and realised I couldn't brake!! I shouted and luckily my cycling companion realised and shouted back 'PEDAL BACKWARDS'. That slowed me down though stopping suddenly still requires some practice.
My parents are here with me on their great adventure. You can follow it @letsgetlost but here's a video I've filmed and edited for them since my arrival.

Exciting times ahead!

Sort:  

Cute to see the Irish flag on the Dutch. Barge

Yes, mammy, well done :-p

Love that city. Since you put the marijuana tag to it, you might find that guide helpful ;)

https://steemit.com/marijuana/@oululahti/amsterdam-coffeeshops-beyond-tourist-traps

Thanks this is perfect !! I've got just under 2 more days of adventure :)

You're welcome! Enjoy your stay! ;)

Inside of that barge looks surprisingly nice.

Will be a shame when it sinks in the English Channel.

Really beautiful city, I agree!

Wonderful I'm loving it! I have so much more to write about but it's difficult to make a good post without making it too long

Keep up the great work @beanz
Upvoted

Keep up the great work @beanz
Upvoted

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.0 and reading ease of 75%. This puts the writing level on par with Tom Clancy and F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Nice @beanz
Shot you an Upvote :)

Nice @beanz
Shot you an Upvote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43