Bandit Hot Air Balloon BASE Jump - First time!

in #travel5 years ago (edited)


This was October 8 years ago! I was shitting myself haha.

This particular jump was my first time jumping a Single Parachute System (a BASE jumping rig), so it made sense to take it out of a balloon, to give me the extra height (more altitude the better), and also gives me less worry about an off-heading opening.

On most BASE jumps, an off-heading is not something you want, in fact, you really don't want it. The idea of the parachute opening 180 degrees and you are now travelling towards the object you just jumped from will not end well a lot of the time, just YouTube BASE jump off heading, or BASE jump 180. So, the balloon, much like a SPAN (Bridge) removes the chance of hitting the object in the event of a 180.

I did this jump with very low sky diving jump numbers.

...yes, I know. F**king stupid idea. (awaiting rage comments from other skydivers)

Now, I'm not going to justify making this type of jump as a good idea with my very low amount of skydives at the time, but I will tell you why I did it.

Any skydiver or BASE jumper knows it is impossible to get a legal jump from a balloon in the UK with a BASE rig. Any balloon jumps made in the UK have to be done over a BPA Dropzone and using sky diving equipment (Reserve and AAD).

I was, and am lucky enough to know a balloon pilot, a balloon pilot who is happy to let me jump from it. Score!

I also had guidance from another BASE jumper friend, who kindly allowed me to use his rig, and pack it for me.

The jump was made at 6am, we set the balloon up at just after 5am, and launched from a secret location in the South (a friend's piece of land).

Ok, so we are now at 2,000ft and it was time to jump. We had packed 'slider up', as I will be making a jump that will last more than a few seconds (I intend to deploy my parachute at 10 seconds), so I'll need that slider to soften the opening of the parachute as I'll be close to terminal velocity by that time.

I climbed over the edge of the basket and gathered my thoughts, I had so many thoughs racing through my head like;

I shouldn't be doing this
I am about to die
What if I don't pull?
Are we high enough?
What if I slip with these trainers?
Are the pins loose?
Am I caught on anything?

The usual gear fear creeps in (I still get similar thoughts to this day on every BASE jump), its a good thing.

My buddy gave me a quick pin check and assured me that there were no snags, and that my pilot chute is sitting where it should be in the BOC, in a good position for me to grab it when I need to deploy.

3, 2, 1 see ya!

I exited trying to keep my chin high, I went a little head low, but it was ok, and I took a good 10 second delay and pitched...BOOM! wow that opened faster than I imagined, I look up and I have a good rectangular black solid canopy over my head, FUCK YEAH!!!

Found my pre declared landing area in a field away from power lines, and landed beautifully.

One of my favourite bits about this jump, was when I climbed a wall to get out of this field and walked up the road past a burger van, which had 3 or 4 builders eating breakfast. Theres me walking past them holding a parachute, and them looking up at a close by hot air balloon...their looks were priceless. One of them said "You didn't just come from that did you?", to which I replied "Course not!".

Quick! in the van, lets go! We have a balloon to land!

This jump was back in 2010, and will be in my thoughts forever, it was stupid but I don't regret it one bit, I took an opportunity that most people, even skydivers or fellow BASE jumpers wouldn't have the opportunity to do, certainly not in the UK anyway.

To answer the question, NO it is not a BASE jump. Sorry for the clickbait title, I did it before someone else does it, so I can explain that it is NOT A BASE JUMP.

A balloon is not a fixed object.

You could argue that if the balloon was tethered it is a fixed object. I have seen this type of argument go into outer space on forums!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thanks a lot :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95