Vacation...a term I'm using loosely

in #travel6 years ago

I'm calling today my first official day of vacation, since, though I had yesterday off, it was my usual day off...

Today, I have no real plans to do anything. Normally I'd be getting the house in tip-top shape for the sitter, but this is the first trip in 14 years that we don't need a sitter. It is an odd feeling, going away and not worrying about the dog. Just when I think I'm done grieving, something reminds me of her and I realize that I will never be done.

This strange vacation is simply a trip away. An opportunity to make Hubby's parents happy by visiting for a few days, while at the same time not subjecting ourselves to a long weekend of feeling awkward staying (being trapped) at their house and sleeping in their basement.
But I've just got too much on my mind, financially speaking, to really be able to enjoy it. Well, as much as Cleveland can be enjoyed.

So today, I am working on psyching myself up for a fun weekend away.
YES! SO MUCH FUN!

I mean, flying out of Boston at 10 pm is going to be fun, but the real fun is going to start when we hit Cleveland at around midnight and then get to be driven to Akron for the night by his 85 year old father!! SO MUCH FUN!

Then, who knows how late everyone will sleep...that is to say, who knows how long I will have to pretend to be asleep before Hubby wakes up ...or how long I can wait to use the bathroom that's right off the kitchen, while his parents putter around making coffee and toasting bagels that they'll try to make us eat when we finally emerge from the basement.
SO MUCH FUN!

Once we check into the hotel, I am planning on getting into vacation mode. I have my swimsuit and I am bringing workout wear just in case I need an excuse to be alone.

I was looking at pics from one of our Iceland trips and found this one
cloud.jpg
From our last trip. When we stayed in the Myvatn region out in the middle of nowhere.
I love the way the clouds, the mountains, and the fog/atmosphere just all blend together. And of course the color.

I just need to get through the next couple days of crowds and constant personal space invasion. I will have to call upon my memories of the way the seclusion of Iceland make me feel. Transport my mind to that tranquility, while being surrounded by strangers.
IMG_7439.JPG

Get ready for the thrilling recount of my amazing trip!

Sort:  

Someone's sitting in the shade today because someone planted a tree a long time ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80