My cycling trip to river Soča

in #travel7 years ago

Last year, somewhere in late August, I decided to make a cycling trip. One of many benefits of living on the Slovenian coast is that it's a great starting point for many road trips. More coast and sea to the south, beautiful Alpine mountains to the north. And because I looked a lot like the Northmen at the time, I decided for the latter.

Yes, I did cheat a bit, and did a part of my way by train. Especially the part with the highway and bad cycling roads. Anyhow, the moment I first saw the river Soča, I had to stop and take a picture.

The next time I saw it, I took more than one. The scenery was just amazing.

I wanted to dive it really bad at this point, but it was getting late already and I had to keep going. Still needed to set up a decent camp to spend the night in. The only camping equipment I was carrying was a sleeping bag, a knife and some strings. Nothing fancy, but enough to keep my nights reasonably "survivable" while keeping the thrill and adventure levels high.

Left my bike by the road, and went on by foot, higher up into the mountains. This is how it looked like, wandering through the forest.

Eventually I've reached a point where I decided to set up my camp. Started gathering rocks and sticks(how primal), and after a couple hours of gathering and building, I took a break to revalue the situation.

I'm a proud hillbilly.

So far so good, and before the nighttime, the camp was all set up. I've also gathered a decent amount of moss to put it under my sleeping bag, serving as a mattress.

I've lit the fire pit(yes it's a fire pit), and started cooking. The funniest part was, that it wasn't even dark at night. The sky was clear and the moon was shinning so bright, that I could easily peel and slice an onion, without any artificial light source. But it was too dark for my phone to take photos though.

Survived the night, and went on to explore the beautiful scenery around me. I've stretched myself on this bench.

Took a shower in God's bath.

Then walked down this road, back to my bicycle and head back home.

I've cycled 3/4 of the way back, because most of it was downhill, since I went from the mountains to the coast. For the last part of the way, my good friend @warrkin came with his VW Passat and drove me to the coast, because it was getting late already and he was(conveniently) living in Koper at that time.

All of the photos were taken with my amazing and also my first ever smartphone, Alcatel One Touch Idol Ultra(yeah seriously). I've upgraded it this September, now I have an Asus Zenfone 3. Told you I'm a proud hillbilly.

I know this is quite different from what I usually write, but I wanted to share the adventurous side of me with you all. Hope you enjoyed this as much as I did!

Sort:  

Oj. A lahko pocakas z boti da ta post priporocim za nagrado.

O seveda. Hvala drugače, cenim :D

More bit vsaj dve uri pa pol str post pa manj kot dolar lajkov.

Hvala za informacije. Ni se mi niti sanjalo, da tako potekajo stvari.

Hello!

Kako smo kaj?:)) Sem mislim da mam ze use Slo nastudirane:)

Lepo da nas je vedno več!!! Sem vama mal commente polajkal da pomagamo gonniu!

vse nas že poznaš :P that sounds a bit scary :D

lolz "poznam" namigujes da sm...

1l50h4 (1).jpg

še misli bereš... uf, hudo :)

ej, a veš kaj je s tisto skupino ko smo rekli da bodo samo posti od slov. memberjev pa nekako ne laufa

hmm jah vidš smo usak za sebe nekak... Lih tko k uresnic.. haha nvem res, js nism se nc objavil v slo tag, edin slike pa to..

Oj. Fajn blog mas. :)

The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Sadly I was working and couldn't join you, but were still good days :) Nice memories, still remember how exhausted you waited for me hehe. Great post bud! Thanks for sharing ;)

Haha yeah man, you're a life saver :D

Great post man! You need to post more times!!!!!!

whale touching you feel good right?:P

Anyways stay awesome! :)))

Thank you :) I'll try to ramp up my frequency a bit. But it's quality over quantity in my book. Thanks again for your support!

hehe no prob!:)

Of course! But how hard is it for a bright mind like yours to post a few times a week? Do as you feel obv, but my advice stands... POST MORE!;)

See the results later on, I feel like your robbing @steemit if you don't post;)

Cya

Great travel post and pictures. Keep Steeming! Looking forward to your next post.

Thank you and I sure will!

Beautiful place! Thanks for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45