A week in Rome: 3

in #travel6 years ago

There is a monument in Rome that the locals do not like much. It is called the Monumento Nazionale a Vittorio Emanuele II. It is a wonderfully ornate very visible building located at Piazza Venezia. I have a long shot of the place at twilight, and the building looks quite gorgeous to my untrained eyes:

It is the monument built in honor of Victor Emmanuel, who was the first King of a united Italy. It is designed by Giuseppe Sacconi in 1885 and completed in 1925. So why do the locals do not like it? Well I am no expert and I only talked to couple of my friends who were born and lives in Rome. According to them the structure look too big, too bright white, has a strange boxy shape, and look nothing like any other architecture in Rome. It is hard to deny any of those facts actually. They call it pompous and apparently during its construction a large part of the Capitoline Hill (which was a charming medieval neighborhood) was destroyed. You be the judge of that. I just took a picture.

After strolling around Piazza Venezia, I went down to see the Tempio del Divo Romolo or the Temple of Romulus. You can read all the history if you like. If I want to write that, it will take all night and I won't really add anything new. But I went up to the Palatine Hill and took a shot of the Tempio del Divo Romolo through some flowers:

Did I say that I like that copper door?!

Disclaimer: All photographs are my own. Just ask me please if you like to use and share; citing the source is fine.

Sort:  

The monument captures everyone's attention, good or bad, as it not only stands above the general skyline but its lighting also easily catches the eye! An iridescent copper door... very nice...!

You can see that monument from virtually anywhere in Central Rome. Lots of tourists use that as a directional beacon:)

I can see why it attracts the strong likes and dislikes... :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-21T23:59:36
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 211.40/200.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00