Weekend Trip to New York City

in #travel7 years ago

I am no stranger to New York City but even with all of the times I've gone, I never took the time to stop and be a tourist. For my birthday, my fiancé planned a trip to New York City. We took the train from New Haven, CT to Grand Central Station. Normally I drive into the city so it was really cool for me to see Grand Central Station. I, of course, had to run to the top of the steps to take a touristy pic.

20180112_195045.jpg

Our hotel was in SoHo, a part of the city I have always heard much about but never been to. I loved being up on a high floor so I could watch the city out the window. Through this window, I took a picture during the day and during the night. Watching the city change in a day is incredible.

unnamed.jpg

20180113_213315.jpg

On Saturday we ventured over to Chelsea Market. I was thrilled to explore a place I had only ever heard about. We walked around the market, strolling into shops and checking out the food. My fiancé spotted a place with boozy shakes. Ice cream and booze, my favorite! We couldn't decide which shake we wanted but ultimately settled on Boozy Berry. It was super tasty but a little more liquor wouldn't have hurt.

20180113_131109.jpg

Our next food stop was at The Lobster Place. It was something new for me to see such fresh seafood right in Manhattan. We walked up to a bar and ordered some items off the raw bar menu. Oysters and crab claws were what caught our eye.

20180113_133106.jpg

After Chelsea Market, we took a walk on the High Line. We bundled up in our jackets, gloves, and scarves to brave the cold and walk around for a bit. The cold January wind was strong and slipped its way through our coats. We were both wishing we were wearing more layers. The walk was great but I made my fiancé promise to take me back during warmer months. Here's a picture of some winter trees on the High Line.

20180113_143128.jpg

For dinner, my fiancé made reservations for a place named Raoul's. It was a delicious French restaurant right in SoHo. The environment was perfect for an intimate celebration dinner. We ordered a bottle of wine, shared a great meal and most importantly, each others company. My future hubby planned the most amazing birthday trip. He is my favorite person to adventure with and I look forward to exploring so much more together.

Sort:  

Your photographs are unique because you thought like a professional. You were conscious of getting great shots from high points before you even commence hence you said: 'Through this window, I took a picture during the day and during the night.'

Good job. Keep it up.

Wonderful and Happy Birthday! I LOVE New York City and I'm so glad you stayed in SoHo, that is my favorite neighborhood. Raoul's is old school - I've yet to go there. I also haven't been to the High Line. Sounds like a great trip- thanks for making me sentimental for NYC (and isn't the ceiling at Grand Central amazing??). I started following you!

I can't wait to explore more of SoHo! If you have any suggestions, I'd love them. Raoul's was AMAZING so definitely check it out next time you are in the area :)

Loved "a little more liquor wouldn't have hurt"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66494.63
ETH 3508.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66