How to live in Bali almost free, tent, instructions for nomads

in #travel5 years ago

IMAGE 2018-12-25 15:13:49.jpg

Since I am an open-source developer, from time to time the budget does not always coincide with expectations and I have to adapt to the current conditions. So I want to share my experience.

Arriving in Bali, I decided to stay in the cheapest hostel. After living there for a while, one night I found a bug in my bed! And I realized that this can no longer continue. All night I did not sleep and in the morning went to the city of Denpasar for a tent. The tent cost me 750k Indonesian rupees ($50).

In my opinion, a place for a tent is better to look in any area of Bali except: Kuta, Seminyak, Changgu, Jimbaran,. This is a tourist area, there is almost no wildlife and a lot of people.

My choice fell on the Bukit Peninsula, Almost the entire coast (except the Nusa Dua area), you can find wild beaches/jungle, where you can not even walk, and to call on the motorbike. So, the first night I got there, I went down to the ocean to swim, and I found a place there for a tent.

IMG_3409.JPG
View from my tent in the morning.

The next day I decided to change the place for the tent, as I would have to walk far to my motorbike.
There are also a few disadvantages, that would put the tent close to the ocean:

  • Very hot and humid at night, the heat comes from the ocean
  • At night on the shore climbs deadly snakes Kraits
  • In the event of a tsunami, you are highly likely to be affected

As for the tsunami, I am absolutely serious, because now quite often “shakes" in Bali, just look at the summary of the latest news.
About the Kraits - Yes, it is a deadly snake, but they are not aggressive do not usually attack, especially during the day. The main thing is not to step on the snake at night. One night when I was sitting with a girl on the beach drinking rum, a snake accidentally crawled on my foot! Then I was just a little scared and so was the snake 😅
IMG_3434.PNG

The next place I chose already at the top cliff, in the forest. There is always a light wind blowing and so comfortable to sleep at night.
IMAGE 2018-12-25 14:01:14.jpg

The pros of the tent

  • Can be put anywhere.
  • Protection from the rain.
  • Protection from snakes, insects.
  • Good disguise, when choosing the right color.

Recommendations

At night, the jungle comes to life, and you may wake up from a strong noise. It may be monkeys, lizards, chickens, snakes, mice, cows, etc. It is recommended not to lose self-control and do not pay attention to these sounds, you still can not have something to influence, just keep sleeping.
Put the tent in the ventilated areas, in the shade, what would sleep was comfortable and you do not have to get out of the tent, because of the heat that will begin with the first rays of the sun.

Precautionary measures

Since this is Asia, there may be animals and insects that you may not expect to see. Moving through the jungle, especially at night try to produce as much vibration (such as tapping a stick on the ground) and make noise. It is strongly recommended not to go in the jungle in shorts, always wear pants. Try to mask your camp that would not attract the attention of tourists and locals. If you clearly hear someone approaching your tent at night - whistle/shout loudly or knock with metal objects, the noise scares the animals away.
Never pitch a tent near the beach on the sand, at night the tide will come and wash you away.

Published by DTrip travel app.
Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=avral
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=how-to-live-in-bali-almost-free-tent-instructions-for-nomads


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here. I just curated your post to our daily Travel Digest #400 and upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11