Travel with me to the East coast of DenmarksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago


banner.jpeg

This was my first time visiting Denmark; a little country sitting in the Baltic Sea, of the Atlantic Ocean, between Germany and Sweden and Norway. A country which is made up of lots of islands and, like Holland, is very flat.

It's common for Scandinavian's to have a summer house on the coast near beaches or lakes (and sometimes a winter house in the northern parts of the countries / Europe for when they want to go skiing or ski-doo-ing) and to spend a reasonable amount of their summer vacation time relaxing in these summer houses. Scandinavian's seem to be expected to take quite large chunks of vacation all in one go - which definitely seems to have its benefits.


It was one of these summer houses on the East coast of Denmark, only a stone's throw away from the beach, that we were fortunate enough to be able to borrow for the weekend.

The summer houses in Denmark were quite unusual because there wasn't really any uniformity between them - other than the fact that they tended to only be one story tall - there was a vast array of different shapes and designs of summer houses lining the coast.

Other than the number of unusual designs of summer houses, the other thing that struck me as quite unusual was the number of houses that had large flag poles outside of their houses and were flying big, Danish flags.

I've seen a similar thing on the coast of Sweeden too.

Quite sweet and patriotic.

There wasn't a huge amount of beach and the sand had patches of vegetation poking through in places, so it's not your typical beach holiday spot, but on the flip side it was really peaceful and relaxing.

The sea was incredibly flat, with hardly any waves at all - which I think probably goes on to explain why there isn't very much sand or beach.

The water was a lovely clear, aquamarine and was very shallow for a long way (if you've seen my #beachWednesday pictures then you'll understand just how far out you could walk without the sea level going above your knees) - whilst this meant that it wasn't really a great place for swimming, it did mean that the water was lovely and warm.

As some people might know, the downside to warm water can be that Jellyfish come closer to the shore to feed as the water warms up and some of them can give you quite a nasty sting. It seems that the ones that are pretty much completely clear, maybe with faint white stripes are fine, but the ones with red-ish orange stripes are the ones to watch out for (as often is true with nature, it's pretty good at giving you a visual warning that it's not to be messed around with!).

If you look very closely, you'll see a jellyfish in the picture...

Fortunately, it's not one that would give me a nasty sting - even though I could have sworn that it had a tint of orange to it... must have been the light...

A summer holiday to the beach wouldn't be complete without ice cream!
IMG_20170617_160521-01.jpeg

And a holiday to Scandinavia wouldn't be complete without "salty liquorice" - it's not to everyone's taste, but I happen to really like salty liquorice and take the opportunity to buy and eat far too much everytime I visit. In Denmark, I found a type that I've never tried before called "Haj Haj" - which would literally translate as "shark shark".

I really enjoyed them - and trying to recreate the movie Jaws too "there's a shark in the water....." 😂

No sharks, just a few fish, jellyfish and ripples in the clear, warm water.

IMG_20170617_170716-01.jpeg

IMG_20170617_131122-01.jpeg

A trip to the nearby town of Kolding topped off the weekend nicely.

When I'm this close to the sea, I like to make sure that I eat local, fresh produce. I wasn't going to turn up a chance to eat fresh Mussel. On the menu, they were advertised by the French name "Moule Frites", so I was expecting the potatoes to be a lot more like fries/chip and a lot less like potatoes, but the food tasted excellent!

I had a really nice weekend on the East coast of Denmark, but next time that I go I will have to pack sun cream or buy it sooner because as you can see in this picture, after a long day of exploring the scenic coastline and beaches I got sun burnt. 😞

IMG_20170618_165322-01.jpeg


Recent posts



banner.gif

Sort:  

really nice and amazing trip my friend

Thanks! I'm glad that you enjoyed my post 😊

what the black thing you are holding there? is it licorice?

I moved to Thailand and I cant find any and is one of the few things I miss from home.

Denmark looks very peacful and calming for some reason and reminds me a lot of the netherlands.

Yep, it's a little Liquorice/licorice (differences between British and American spelling) shark; although a very stylised one ☺️

I've never been to Thailand, it looks like a beautiful country. Are you enjoying living there now?

except the missing licorice....

I really love it so far it. It only has been 3 month so it is quite surreal still a bit. But it has been a dream of mine since I was here 10 years ago and I try just to enjoy it. If things work out great, if not I dont have to ask myself the nagging waht if question anymore.

If you come visit thailand sometimes in the futrue bing licorice please ;-)

Ha ha, I will do ☺️

Awesome post, thanks for sharing! Denmark it definitely on my list, I hope to catch good weather like in your photos :D. Followed! Check out my travel photos also hope you enjoy them and maybe they will inspire your next travel destination!

Thanks for the kind words and for the follow - I'll check out your travel photos and what inspirational places you've been to too 😊

Like your shirt. Haha! ;)
Thanks for the nice post! Will be following you from now on :)

Thanks 😀 I'm glad that you like the post 😊

I couldn't see the jellyfish in either pic! Yikes!!! Beautiful places to visit, thanks for sharing.

There's one there, I promise you that it's not some sort of cruel trick ☺️

I believe you, that's why its so scary!!! I kinda see a film so I guess that is it. I never thought you were tricking me, I just am fascinated at how hard they are to see!

Oh! I love Jylland. We usually go to Copenhagen every year, but i think next time we must go there instead! Thanks for the great post and pictures

You're welcome @scandinavianlife. I'm glad that you enjoyed my post, thanks for stopping by 😊

I would love to go there someday. I'll add it to my travel list.

Definitely do - I look forward to seeing your pictures when you visit! 👍☺️

Looks like a wonderful place to "retreat" for a while. The time I was over in Denmark the area literally had a ladybug plage :D

Yikes, the odd ladybug is cute, but a plague of them... The idea of it makes my skin crawl 🐞🐞🐞😱

Beautiful post. Thank you

You're welcome - thanks for the kind words and for stopping by 😊

Great travel post! Looks like a wonderful country! And that beach, wow! Upvoted :)

Thanks, I really appreciate your kind words and support - I'm glad that you enjoyed my post 😊👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83