You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Get A Tour Without "Getting A Tour”

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Ah, I know I'm being super super super super super pedantic... but it's impossible to die a lonely death when you have marshmellows on you. Not only are they delicious friends themselves, but literally all people and creatures will find you and be your friend... at least until the bag runs out.

We took a tour at the Grand Canyon, and it was super expensive. The group was really nice and the guide was awesome... but the rest of the group was also older, and by the 2nd day were already repeating their stories.. which, ah, is less fun than it sounds. In hindsight, we probably would have had a funnerer time taking on the canyon ourselves and spending that tour money on literally anything else.

We've taken the chicken buses all over Central America and they were always awesome and easy and terrifying and amazing. We found everyone pretty nice... even the machine-gun official government teenagers guarding the ATMs.

So, in summary, I'm with you. Say no to sadistic dictator tour guides!

Sort:  

LOL! If I ever find myself dying, I'm going to grab a bag of marshmallows and wave them in the air and yell "COME AND GET IT!" Just to make sure. And I'll only feed them one at a time slowly so someone has to stay by my side until the bag is empty. Maybe I'll get 10 bags lol.

YES! I agree about the chicken buses!!! Fun and exciting and horrible and wonderful!! I remember one time I sat down in one and the seat just fell completely through because it was old hahaha (pretty sure I wasn't fat at the time).

But I have smiley pictures with locals on chicken buses and fun crazy kids that I've met on them. Always an adventure!! I'm so glad someone else is a chicken bus fan.

I think we should make "say no to sadistic dictator tour guides" into a tshirt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78