You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Germany - Dachau Concentration Camp

in #travel6 years ago

How I wish that will happen, but then cruel acts like these still keep going on (but maybe its on the decrease).

Its sad what these people had to go through, because some people thought they were doing the right thing by being cruel and wicked. I can't imagine the torture these people went through. I must have been hell

The Crematorium looks really nice, a great place to while away time, but after hearing what it was used for, I doubt I will be comfortable enough to spend more than a minute there. The atmosphere around there must still be stuffy. It is sad how they wasted such a nice place..

The churches there are beautiful, I especially love the last one. People worship there?

Just like you, I hope we learn from these mistakes.

Sort:  

I truly believe that most people who commit wicked acts think in their hearts that they are doing the right thing, or at the least that they have no choice. It's difficult to fathom, and I hope to never be in a place where I believe that committing violence against another is the best course of action. Many people were faced with the choice to protect their families or to protect others...they saw themselves as being unable to do both. It was certainly a hellish time for everyone involved I am sure.

Yes, the last church is still in regular use. I don't know about the other two. They looked like they are used occasionally, due to their being melted candles in the candle holders, but I doubt they hold regular services there.

Yeah, I agree with you on that. We do have different beliefs and understanding of things and I guess that goes a long way to explain that. Their beliefs might have justified their actions as being right and even the "best" for the people and society. The sad thing is that no matter how hard one tries, it will be nearly impossible to convince someone with such belief to try and look the other way- the path of kindness.

It definitely was hell for those that had no other choice than to act in that manner.
I do hope not to be in such a situation too.

Well, its all over now, and that is just history. I am glad that most people have gotten their lives back and moved on from that sad phase.

I've read studies that show that the stresses the prisoners were subjected to in those camps can be physically detected in their offspring, even several generations later. The grandchildren of the victims show stronger stress responses, even factoring out environmental factors.

So yes, I'm glad we are moving on, but the effects will still reverberate for generations.

That's so sad. I had no idea the effect of that traumatic effect could be that bad, how little I know...

Hmm... The scar will be there. I just hope they open up to receiving help when they need to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70