Walking the streets of Thera, SantorinisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

After leaving my travelling companions behind in Katerini in northern Greece, I boarded a train to Athens with plans to head to one of the Greek Islands. I had no idea which one. I had no idea of any of the Greek Islands really. From Larissa station in Athens I caught a cab to the port of Piraeus and wandered into the nearest ticket office. 

"I want to go to a Greek Island," I announced to the man behind the counter. 

"Which one?" he responded. 

"I don't know, I have no idea." 

He pointed to a large map on the wall behind me. 

"Pick one," he said. 

I went over to the map on the wall. There were hundreds of little specks with names. I still had no idea. 

After staring at the map for several minutes, I returned to the counter. 

"I don't know, any island will do." 

"There's a high speed ferry leaving for Santorini in 45 minutes."

Forty-five minutes later, I was on my way to Santorini.   

After three of four hours, it was dark and had been a long day, I saw the lights of Santorini. They were at the top of a cliff. A very high and steep cliff. How was I going to make my way up there at this time of night?  

No problem. A landlord from Thera, reeking of beer and with an old bus with no seatbelts would drive me up the winding road to the top of the cliff and offer me a cheap rate on a small room. It was late. I took his offer. 

After surviving the ride, and a late night drink or two at a bar playing Aussie music, the next day, I wandered the streets of Thera to take a few shots with my Nikon D70. 

I felt right at home after spotting this VB sign.

Franco's: The perfect spot to sit back in a deck chair sipping a cocktail while watching the sun set.

The stunning view across the caldera to the active volcano.

When you want your house to stand out in Santorini.

Bougainvillea in bloom.

One of the many hotels offering luxury accomodation along the cliff face ... if you're not afraid of sudden earthquakes.

One of the many narrow passageways.

All photos taken by me in September 2007 with my trusty 6mp Nikon D70. To see more of my photography, visit me at @atnicholson

!steemitworldmap 36.417000 lat 25.431805 long Walking the streets of Thera, Santorini d3scr
Sort:  

Great photos. I'd love to visit Santorini one day.

Did you make it down to Perissa? Nice area for beaches and beers. Beautiful island isn't it.

I did. Not sure about the black sand? Certainly a different experience!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=atnicholson
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=walking-the-streets-of-thera-santorini


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

beautiful place.

Resteem by @jossylink

Resteem your post at SBD 0.001

Resteem by @jossylink

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50