Living in Beijing Series: The Art of Haggling

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer
This post is meant to be an educational and not to favour any sides. The author does not support nor against buying fake goods. Besides that, this post is not sponsored by any party but if you would like to know read more about life in China, we gladly accept your gracious click of support at the end of this post.@asianetwork welcomes all questions in the comments section below regarding China especially about eating and living in Beijing and will be read by Reena.K herself or her team. If you are interested in pursuing an education (in English) or looking to supply any products from China, we would gladly assist you too. Last but not least, have a lovely day :)
The asianetwork team.
Author: Reena.K
video: youtube

Recently a video of an American guy haggling in Beijing went viral in the internet and it probably scares you but haggling without a fight is no fun

Haggling in today’s Beijing

Haggling now has turn into a sort of tradition; some call it a form of entertainment or engagement between locals and tourists. I will be honest with you, in the modern world of e-commerce, the locals here get their high quality imitation somewhere else. And in terms of haggling, the Chinese ladies would rather take pictures with you when they see a a good looking foreigner. But because you’re there to buy something, getting you to pay becomes an important affair for all the vendors.

The rules of the Game

A lot of people may not know this but there are rules and etiquette when it comes to haggling.
So the golden rule for all tourists is You Are Expected to Haggle

  • Don’t ask about the price; don’t ask to try, unless you are serious about buying it. Because if you haggle until a price and then you decided not to buy and walk away, it is considered rude.
  • Prices they stated are always at least 400% higher.
  • Chinese vendors are tough but you can be tougher. Sometimes haggling takes up to 15 minutes because they(the vendors) want to close the sale, and you want to get the goods at your price

Things vendors say:

“YOU WANNA BUY?”
“THIS IS NIKE, THIS IS JORDAN, 800KUAI!”
“200? USD? EURO? “
“YOUR BAG IS MORE EXPENSIVE, COME ON, GIVE ME BEST PRICE!”
“CAN YOU GIVE ME YOUR BEST PRICE?!”
“GIVE ME YOUR BEST PRICE!”
“GIVE ME YOUR BEST PRICE!” X10…(expect it)

Once you settle on the right price, pay the right amount. If the vendor gives you your change, be sure to check the notes.

Need a little tip?

They don't display the price on a board, which means there isn't a fixed price to start off with. SO...

  • Do some online searching before you go and check out similar prices. If your guide is a local student you can always ask him or her where locals shop
  • Do not pay unless you are satisfied with the price.
    A simple trick is, if the vendor keeps telling you to give your best price, insist on it, if the vendor is pushing you, you can walk away and most likely they will call you back to renegotiate.
  • Assuming after all the research you did, you find your budget as 200 kuai, tell the vendor you want it for 150 kuai. And once the both of you go on and on for at least 15 minutes and more till she offers you 400, you can say: 180. If she goes: “Come on, 200 then!” You got your deal.

Remember that the game is simple, whoever is tougher wins.

Personally, I’m not a fan of these places because it’s mostly for tourist and the goods are not returnable if you didn’t like the fake goods you bought. Places like Silk Street and Pearl Market are for tourist. But according to experience me and my friends have, we can bring down prices from 700 chinese yuan to 50 chinese yuan

Conclusion

Haggling is an art, and bargaining without a fight is no fun. It can be tiring, but if you choose not to haggle, you can always get the locals here to help you get the things you want online. Imagine the contacts we have *wink


▔▔▔▔▔▔▔◥ ◤▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

Hi there, thanks for dropping by! How do you find this post? Let me know in the comments below! Do not forget to support!
Cheers,
Reena.K

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Haggling is quite common here in Pakistan too and I just cannot purchase anything from a local market without haggling haha and I am good at it too. I enjoyed this post for several reasons. First, it describes a cultural phenomenon. Second, it is different than what I have been reading today. Third, you gave honest and helpful advice to help people out with haggling. I'll be featuring your post in my curation post today and resteeming it too.

it is indeed an art, not many are good in it. I have to admit i don't enjoy haggling because it takes time. unless i do not have a choice. My mom however, haggles everything even for 10 cents!

Haha good to hear that about your mom. I enjoy haggling but not always. There are somethings I know there is no point to haggle over. My mother is like yours too- she haggles for everything even when she know the price is right.

Buaahahhah I LOVE THIS!! I"ll give you $30 heeheheheheh

I learned how to do this in Korea. Love haggling so much, and your disclosure is hilarious.

Eagle UpComm.jpg

Yup... Don't ask for the price if we aren't serious in buying the item. Never ever ask the price unless we are going to buy it.

perhaps haggling should go, Buy 2 for this price. lol.

wow, I didn't realize the prices could get that high! My mom is Korean and she used to haggle a lot when she lived there, but after living int he US for so long, she's still able to bargain but not for the best price since she doesn't know the local prices anymore. I didn't know that haggling was expected from tourists in China, since in Korea it feels more like a locals-only thing.

Especially on silk markets and pearl streets. When the prices is that high, its a sign to bargain. I forgot to add on, they usually don't display the price. so it starts with the sentence: "How much do you want to pay?"

I'm amazing in Haggling! I do it all the time here in Binondo(China Town of Manila)

It is indeed an art of how to haggle and using my charms doesn't hurt either.

yup! well, i think its easier to haggle with the opposite gender because you can use your charm to make them say yes . LOL

Or you can just leave and let them go after you hahaha

We know he does so much more @asianetwork. LOL!!!

Wahahah what are you stalking me here ES hahaha

Youd think so! But everytime I look there is my boi commenting on someone I knows post and now I see how you are getting up there on that list lol
I’m
Not far behind you but I upvote my own post :p

I feel you look at how many comments I make it’s a lot. Not sure about his formula. Interesting stuff :p

I just realised you guys are both 2 steps to rep 60!!!! way a go!!!!

Yes and thank you! 💕

lol... imagine three person were to go haggle together like going for war

It would be awesome and we’d be talking so fast like an auctioneer ahahhaha

I feel you Reena. Tried the haggling thing in Hong Kong and they were super notorious. I ended up getting slapped on because I was so cheap. My sister and I had fun though. Haggling is a talent too.^^

I AgrEE WITH YOU! Its a talent which i need to build too. I'm not the best in haggling in these markets because i don't find myself needing to buy anything from there. and i don't like to haggle because after i', happy with a price, i might think, "what if i can get a lower price?" it can taunt you .... oh dear..

Hahahah oh dear oh dear. I'm amazed how pushy the sellers are and they just wouldn't let you go without buying anything.

WaOOoOoooOoOO ..hagling i had never knew before .can its really works or fak i am amazed what a game it is its all about bussness i thinik. ..

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=asianetwork
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=living-in-beijing-series-the-art-of-haggling


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @asianetwork! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Lol really.. haggle to the death!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97