The little hidden reserve in Manaia!

in #travel7 years ago

What a surprise. You wouldn’t expect to see a reserve in the little town of Manaia, on the north island of New Zealand! 

It’s a little tiny reserve:

Tucked like a little gem behind the golf course. And it’s looked after by the residents of the town. When they go there, they check for weeds and pull them out. So the place is well looked after by everyone.

It’s a lovely place to go to on a Sunday afternoon: 

So peaceful, your soul is recharged. I found it so beautiful that I had to take photos of it. I think it’s a perfect place to paint paintings. Take another closer look at my photos of the place. If you’re an artist too, I’m sure you will agree with me.

Wondering through it:

You first have to park at the golf course entrance parking. Then walk through the golf course to get to it. Even while walking through the golf course, you feel a calming effect coming over you. 

When you enter and  go through the reserve, you first follow a little stream. At one point there are a few upturned logs to sit on like toadstools. We rested there for a little while, to soak in the ambiance of the beauty of Nature surrounding us.

And after your peaceful rest, you follow the path and cross a little bridge. And continue along the winding little path, you come out on top, onto a lawn plateau (still part of the golf course) where there is a little bench to sit on and relax again.

  

After that, you have two interesting little trails you can follow out of the little reserve, and up through the gold course through a different route. 

What the town also offers:

The reserve may not normally be a tourist spot been hidden in a little town, but it was so beautiful and peaceful, that we went there twice while in New Zealand! 

And if you do ever go to the little town of Manaia, the icon symbolic emblem of the town is a huge loaf of bread. You see, all the little outlining towns on the north island have symbolic emblems for their towns welcome entrances. It’s generally something their town is well known for. But I must say Manaia sells the best fresh fish and chips you’ll ever find. 

In Manaia’s centre square (see in map the round circle in the main road) there is a little statue of a brave little dog.  

The story goes that in 2007, a little Jack Russell terrier named George became a hero when he fought a pair of pitbulls (dog breed) that were threatening a group of five children. His attempts to protect the children meant the dogs attacked him, and afterwards he had to be put down. See full story of George the brave little dog at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_(dog) 

So well organized:

And they have a police station and fire brigade, maintained by a few people. They are not always open because there is less crime or fires. There is a phone number to call out the police officer. And if there is a fire, a siren goes off that the whole town can hear it, and already established volunteers run quickly and do their bit to put the fire out. 

That is what New Zealand is like. People are so helpful and friendly. A great place to live! 

Sort:  

Great post!

Ummmm.....I didn't know. This country is really nice though you made me like your country than my own country(Rwanda).
But don't worry, I'm gonna write an article about Rwanda and I believe that you will like the story.

I visited New Zealand. I actually live in South Africa.
I would love to know more about the real life in Rwanda.

Yeah....I'm also writing an article about Rwanda which I will post tomorrow.
Though still new on steemit, just joined 2 days back. I believe that you will like the story.

Oh, my God, I really like a lot. Post
I liked the show of your feelings in words, and these wonderful pictures of greenery and nature
The little Dog... He really sooooo cuteeeee

That black dog in my collage, in the reserve, is so cute. She likes to chase your shadow (all day whenever you come out the house)) and at night likes to chase spotlights (bit it if she could) on the walls and ceiling!

it really is a great place to spend the whole day there ... and there just relax body and soul - relaxation) thanks

It's truly a lovely place to let your heart and soul absorb the serenity.

It's so lovely and beautiful there :)

Wow! Amazing place, I just loved your post. Wonderful post! New zealand is so beautiful. Really brilliant. I enjoyed your post very well. Thanks @artguru for sharing this lovely post. 😊💜💙💚

Have a glorious day!!🤗💫💫💛

north island of New Zealand are awesome...

Biz bu oyunu bozacagız

New Zealand is a very beautiful place.. i will definatly try to visit once..

new zealend wonderful country of world

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71