The dramatic shores of the west coast

in #travel6 years ago

New Zealand’s south island had a lot of surprises for us. Having disembarked from the huge ferry, we planned to travel down from Piction’s harbour, to Christchurch, all in one day, that first day.

But the weather had turned!

And mist lay heavy over the harbour town of Picton. Even though it added a dramatic appeal to our trip, it was encouraging to see how the sun was trying so desperately to shine through at that point.

 

My husband and I had come halfway around the world (from South Africa) and had enjoyed superb weather on New Zealand’s north island, now only to land on the south island when the weather wasn’t so grand. 

Sadly it stayed overcast all day, but that didn’t damper our expectations. As it turned out, the overcast weather was only on that first day.  

I must say, after that first day, the weather was kind to us for the rest of our trip through New Zealand’s south island. We had such adventures, seeing thrilling panoramic views and visiting the most fascinating places. 

Venturing south:

It was the intention to first travel down the east coast. First to Christchurch to where my husband’s niece lives. Later we would travel through the centre of the island, down to the bottom tip and then up through the west coast. 

That first day, the road south took us most of the time close to the shoreline.  We stopped a few times to stretch our legs and enjoy the beauty of the grey sea bounding dramatically against the seashore, under a grey cloudy sky.

As an artist this was fantastic:

I loved this part of the trip. Because… bad weather means theatrical atmospheric skies, which you can exaggerate in your paintings. 

Why, because people especially love seascapes with huge waves dashing and crashing on rocky shores. You know the ones with a clear wave, misty cliff faces, etc! So I was literally in my element. Even through others may have thought it was a dismal uneventful day. 

I can tell you, it isn’t very often you get the opportunity to photograph dramatic skies. Generally people expect you’ll want to go places when the weather is clear and sunny. So here was my opportunity to grab the dynamic moment and do my thing with my camera. 

Only I didn’t get photos of huge massive cliff faces...shame that’s `how-the-cookie-crumbles.’ Anyway I hope you enjoy what I was able to get. 

Lazy seals: 

At times we were fortunate to see lazy seals lolling on ledges and jagged rocks with the sea churning all around them. And others were closer to shore, quite oblivious to the humans assembling, all excited about seeing them dosing out there in all weathers. 

Wild flowers:

I often stop and take time to get down low and zoom in on tiny wild flowers. Here is a pink one (in the collage) I found on the seashore. Just to give you some idea what plant life you’ll find along that coast. 

At one point we had to stop to eat lunch:

We found a tiny bakery shop, close to the seashore that also sold fast foods. There was quite a range to pick and choose from, whatever we wanted. It was really tasty and healthy food. We meandered aimlessly outside the shop while munching our goodies, because there weren’t any tables to sit at. That didn’t seem to worry us, as we watched gulls fight over our food scraps. 

Then getting back into our cars, we traveled tranquilly, looking at the surrounding scenery and towns, on our way down towards Christchurch. 

Instead of going into Christchurch that day, we veered out into the countryside, where we stopped and strayed in a splendid house, perched high on a hill, looking over a breath-taking misty panoramic view. 

Next blog:

How the next day we visited Christchurch’s beautiful serene central park, the magical wizard tram ride through the centre of Christchurch and what it looks like after their terrific earthquake.

Sort:  

I was waiting for the continuation of your journey. The fog definitely added a certain dramatic atmosphere to your trip and these photographers. These landscapes of the sea shore are simply amazing, I can only guess what kind of feeling arises when you are there, breathe pleasant and damp air and see everything with your own eyes.
Lazy selce is interesting looking, you are lucky to watch them.
These are simply delightful places to travel and enjoy the views and the place where you are. I believe that people should often do what you do - travel and enjoy the moments of life.
Thank you, I liked

Hello, I set up my blog on steemit. I like to take a selfie, travel, contact me, enter my blog and see what's new https://steemit.com/life/@beyonndkiller/asia-s-latest-selfie-sexy-goddess-daily-life4

Welcome to New Zealand! I myself am from the North Island (Taranaki Area) but now live in Christchurch and have done since the earthquakes. I think you have come to town during what seams to be our annual storm right after Christmas. Wait half a month and Christchurch will start going into a no rain no cloud in sight dry period. If you get a chance make sure you head down to Milford sounds. I did a blog a long time ago of our travel there but here is 2 photos that stood out:

IMG_20170419_113915.jpg

Done3.jpg

The weather changes rapidly here due to the contour of the skinny islands. Have Fun in NZ and let me know if you need any suggestions!

Those photos are terrific. I'm not in New Zealand now, I'm back in South Africa. We enjoyed our trip to New Zealand so much, that I'm just writing about our trip there. If you have been following my series on our trip, you will have seen we were in the Taranaki area. I still have to write about our visit to the Milford sounds.
You are lucky to live in New Zealand and experience it's dramatic beauty.

I only just came across your series but I went through and I think I've now read them all. All of the places you have mentioned I have been there, done that type thing and it is interesting looking at it through a tourists eyes. I particularly liked your posts about Mt Taranaki, and Whangamomona. My sister works for the department of conservation (DOC) here protecting the Mt and she would love to hear how it had no rubbish! We all try to take care of our nature here as it is very precious to us. I am glad you enjoyed your trip!

Newzealand are the nature of beautiful country

I didn't know New Zealand had such a beautiful nature..🌻
Thanks for opening our eyes!

a really interesting story, happy to have fun

Lovely and dramatic pictures. I’ve never been to NZ, but I would love to travel there some time :) In fact, your pictures remind me of my home island, Senja, in In north of Norway. I will soon make a post with pictures from Senja.

One of those posts I really get the urge to just pack my stuff and leave for New Zealand tomorrow haha. On a serious note, visiting Australia and especially New Zealand are among my top priorities going into 2018-2019.

Very cute seals also btw 😉

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around!💯

What an awesome post,welcome to steemit,a community of positive minds,do well to follow me @richdaddy

Wow!! Stupendous post @artguru.
You are my inspiration mam.
I learned many things from your post.
I am new here on Steemit.
Your posts helps me a lot to understand this platform.
So thank you so much mam.😊

Have a wonderful day!! 💖

Yeah, lovely post...i appreciate your acquaintance..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69