New Zealand’s beauty can be bewildering!

in #travel7 years ago

The vastness of the plains and lakes is mind boggling. Not to mention the variety of terrains you come across. We were on our way from Twizel to Invercargill, via Lake Wakatipu, on New Zealand’s south island.

 

I was taking photos while we were traveling. 

Our first stop was at Cromwell Pass:

When we stopped and parked halfway up Cromwell Pass, we got out of our cars and climbed a little up the mountainside to look back the way we come. Most of the cars coming up the hill also stopped to see what all the fuss was about. Obvious this was a tourist stop, so there we were, with many other people, having the same intentions. 

As usual, I took note of our surrounding, and looked about from where we stood on the mountainside. 

First I took two photos of the mountains behind us. And then turning back again, I surveyed the grandeur of the panoramic view, looking down the wide open valley before us. 

To actually get there, mile upon mile, all the way up those winding foothills and then now look back! Oh man… it was fantastic! You have to be actually there to experience what I'm saying. My photos look dark, but actually it was a sunny day.

The magnitude and power of the dimension of the scenery all around you, it’s awesome… breath taking. The size of the mountain we stood on… you feel you don’t want to leave the energy of space or the endlessness of the place! 

But move on we did. And I continued to take photos from the moving car. These photos will give you some idea what the terrain, of that part of New Zealand, is like.

Then Lake Wakatipu:

Here we stopped not only to see the lake in all its splendour, but take a rest from driving. It was so peaceful in the middle of the day. Perhaps because  there were no tourists to bother us. 

We wondered here and there and `played the fool’. It was great to stretch our legs and get the blood running in them again. 

It was family time to take photos of each other, before getting back in our cars and setting off again. 

From here on in:

The terrain was so different and diverse.  

One minute there was grasslands, and the next rocky outcrops and cliff faces. Again I was taking photos while the car was moving, in and out the hills and mountains, from one valley to the next. See, I lined up a few of the photos for you.

  

At last, Invercargill:

The town of Invercargill is at the bottom end of New Zealand’s south island. 

It was towards evening when we entered Invercargill. And we were ‘all pooped out’ by the time we found the accommodation we had booked. After the long drive we were glad to rest, each couple to their own little container chalet. 

We stayed in Invercargill a couple of days and saw some really exciting stuff there... But that you’ll hear all about it in my next blog, in my series of New Zealand and our trip there! 

Sort:  

Looks awesome watch out for hobbits

I think we were bewitched by New Zealand's beauty!
And sometimes I even hobbled along!!! He,he... with so much walking and looking at things. But that day, we did mostly sitting in the car, travelling from place to place.

I'm glad that you returned to the blog about the adventure in New Zealand

The vastness of the plains and lakes is mind boggling. Not to mention the variety of terrains you come across

The variety of terrain and terrain is amazing. Probably you as a professional fudozhnika it inspires to create a picture.

Hello @frank1in nice to meet you.
I want to adventure to new zealand to if my blog steemit have a many followers hehehe.
Dont forget to follow and support me @suararakyat.
Peace from indonesia

Glad you are following our travels, from one blog to the next. Lovely to have you aboard.

thank's for the sharing, i love it

Wow what... a collection....amazing.....

Thanks for sharing, this place is awesome. How can I see it directly ?.

thank's @artguru for the sharing this, i really do love it

@artguru you allready made me change my travel plans for this year! I love the variety of terrain! Amazing post!

I can't help it. I really enjoyed our travels through New Zealand. From one day to the next, my mouth dropped open more times than I can count, from all the lovely things we saw. And going with family was exciting.

Congratulations @artguru! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello @artguru nice to meet you.
After i readed your post i want to adventure and trevelling in new zealand 👦.
Dont forget to follow and support me @suararakyat thanks

Waooooo!!! I'm very happy thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46