New Zealand in all its splendour:

in #travel7 years ago

Looking down on New Zealand from the plane, before it got dark, we could see it was a land of pleasure. It seemed that everyone was either on a cruise boat or in ski boats. They busily dotted the lakes, inlets and at sea. It was a beautiful sight, with the sun setting over the land and sea, giving it a soft golden glow. These people surely enjoyed life to the full.

The first night we were in New Zealand, we slept at a cosy B&B in Auckland. 

It was so fantastic to have a shower and sleep in a lovely huge soft bed. It was just what the `doctor ordered,’ after our experience with customs (story from a previous post) and our long 15 hours on two planes from South Africa.  

The next day we breakfasted at a mull take away.  Even though we have mulls in South Africa, here things seemed somewhat different. Maybe it was the peaceful atmosphere and how people mingled like there wasn’t a care in the world. 

Then we started travelling south. It took a couple days, with our children showing us interesting places along the way. 

They showed us so much. It has now become a happy blur. So I’m not too sure of all the names or the order of the places. But I will give it a shot, and hope you enjoy the trip back in time too. 

The wonders of New Zealand:

The first time we went to the shops, I got thunderstruck at the vegetable and fruit counter. I couldn’t believe what I saw. Vegetables were so huge, you would think giants lived is this country. 

In South Africa our vegetables are stunted compared with the size of the vegetables in New Zealand.  I stood so transfixed, that I was left behind and had to run, look for and catch up with my family. They had been oblivious to the fact I had been left behind. I suppose they were so used to seeing big lush vegetables. 

My husband and I were so bewildered; we just couldn’t stop asking questions. Our overwhelming awe at what we were seeing and experiencing, put amiable smiles on our children’s faces. 

One of the first places they took us was a sulphur spring at a park, near Lake Rotorua. We were told there are quite a few sulphur springs in the area. 

And check out the Rachel Spring Whangapipird in the collage photos below. 

The park had an impressive very picturesque building, surrounded with gardens full of roses and flowers. We also walked down to the lake edge, but tiny little sand flies gave us so much trouble, we had to hurry away, slapping and dusting our ankles. 

Lush green New Zealand:

I must say, after the long dry spell we had been surviving back in South Africa, New Zealand looked so green. Of cause it would be green. It was still at the beginning of December. But to us, New Zealand looked and felt like we had landed in heaven. 

The meadow grass and rolling hills were so lush. Every farm was a picture, with their hedges neatly clipped and trimmed, dividing the meadows like quilts. There didn’t seem to be a weed anywhere. Even the woodpiles were stacked neatly (according to mauri tribal tradition I suppose). 

So heavenly to ride up and down dale, along winding country roads, bordered with tiny flowers waving in the breeze. 

And the hillsides with steps in them! The sand is so fine and soft, I presume they are supported and layered with twigs, to prevent landslides. The grass grows over the twigs, giving the hills a lush furry appearance. 

 

And the purity of the water! Beyond belief: 

Water everywhere in lakes and rivers, was crystal clear and sea-green in colour. In South Africa the rivers and streams are muddy brown and filled with waste rubbish. 

What got me gobsmacked, were the Huka falls. The water gushed over in such great volumes. It’s beyond anyone’s imagination.  In South Africa the water trickles straight down over the waterfall rocks. In the rainy season of cause, it flows somewhat stronger, but nothing like it was at Huka falls. 

At the Huka falls, the water shouts metres and metres over the falls, way out, far away from the hidden rocks it covers! The force it creates… makes the foam of the water look icy pale green in colour. No one going over those falls in a raft would ever survive that pounding force! 

I don’t think any camera could do justice to it.  

The splendour of New Zealand is so beautiful, it has to be seen to be truly believed.

Sort:  

I want to live in countryside. It's peace!

In the countryside, people leave their cars and houses unlocked! In South Africa we lock ourselves in with very high walls. We are in 'jails' while the criminals run free!

Nice post @artguru and very interest. New zealand is the best nature in the word. Because coming wonderful nature. I will be traveling to new zealand for enjoying scenary nature in new zealand love country. I love your post @artguru.
I am new comer in steemit. Please help me to follow my blog @nonasweety

I went to your site and see you resteemed two of my posts. So I've up-voted you and wish you all the best with your future posts. Have fun been on Steemit. Its great to help each other out isn't it.

Okay. Thanks ..

A beautiful country

Thanks. Had a great time there. Will post the rest of our travels through New Zealand in future posts. So look out for them.... will try to post every Wednesday.

Yes, you are right @artguru - New Zealand 🇳🇿 is a great place to travel. I like Roturoa area a lot.

Enjoy my Travel with Detlev series on many locations around the world.

I teach english for teens and one of the lessons is about NewZealand. It's marvelous.

So glad I could be of help! Hope to write lots more on New Zealand.

Thank you for sharing with us your amazing journey to New Zealand. Now you got me thinking of going there to experience it first hand. It's like some far away enchanted paradise :)

It is. From lush peaceful landscapes to dramatic beaches and waterfalls.

Being a New Zealander myself and seeing this, sure makes me grateful, awesome post by the way!

You are so lucky to be a New Zealander! Treasure your country and travel around it more often and see what you've missed before. Its so diverse, that you'll never get bored.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74