Lake Tekapo in all its panoramic splendour!

in #travel7 years ago

After leaving Christchurch, we traveled first along the east side of New Zealand’s south island, and then inland towards Lake Tekapo.

The first part of our trip we were happily munching snacks in our two cars (four people in each vehicle) until we hit a long straight stretch of road. Here we stopped to rest and stretch our legs and take in the beauty of the range of mountains in the far distance. 

Then getting back into our cars we drove on and on watching the open scenery unfold around us. It seemed uneventful until we topped the ridge of one of the hills and saw the Mackenzie Basin and Lake Tekapo lying before us. 

Such a profound panorama:

We were awestruck and gobsmacked. It affected us so much we were all speechless with wonder. All that came out of our mouths was, “Oooh…aaah,” with eyes as `big-as-saucers!’ We just couldn’t take it all in at first. It is beyond one’s expectation. 

With that we were in a hurry to find parking and get out our cars. But there were so many tourist buses and people surging around. Your first impression was that this place was a very popular place, no wonder it was such a stunning place.

The cute little stone church:

Getting out our cars we noticed there was a wedding about to happen in the small church perched on a knell just above the lake shore. Then we understood, the buses weren’t just for tourists to see the lake, there were lots of people there because of a wedding.

People were taking photographs of the bride. She stood in such a gorgeous dress with a light breeze blowing her hair. Everything seemed so romantic with her beauty adding to the scene. 

Everyone gathered around to watch. But by the time I got my camera out and ready, sadly she had just moved into the chapel. Aaah shame… that would have been lovely to have had a photo of the church and her too! 

Oh well, that was that. We might as well go down to the lake and check it out. 

Looking out over the vast lake:

The incredible beauty of it blows you mind away. It is so vast that a photo’s composition of it would look totally empty.  

But I tried anyway. As you can see, sadly the stitched panoramic frames distort the scene. The shore in fact is straight, not curved. And the camera makes the mountains look like pimples in the distance! 

Down at the lake’s shore:

Stepping in between rocks we made our way down to the stony shore, where icy water flipped on and over the stones as it gently rolled into shore. 

We were overcome with the fact that the water was so clean and crystal clear. Light sea-green in colour, cold looking with the blue mountain range in the distance laden with snow. 

I suppose the purity and colour of the water was because of the snow melting and coming down from the mountains tops into the lake. 

It is hard to conceive such piscine, when you think of the rubbish you see floating and choking the brown rivers and dams back home in South Africa. 

Standing there trying to take it all in, we noticed a flock of Egyptian geese making their way into the water. First gently floating and then confidently swimming out over the water, aiming perhaps for a distant shore. 

After that we wondered up the shore and meandered along a path to a monument on another little knell. 

There we saw a cast iron statue:

It’s of a sheep dog perched high on a pile of large rocks.  A plague gives a very brief description of the brave dog. 

See full story at: http://www.twizelnz.com/legend-twizel-nz.html 

It’s a long fascinating story of what happened there, many years before in 1855, when a Scottish guy by the name of James Mackenzie furtively roamed the valley and surrounding area, herding and steeling sheep in Robin Hood style, with the aid of his faithful Border collie dog called Friday. 

How often he escaped the police was amazing. And what he said to his dog in court! You have to click on the link and read the story!  It isn’t a wonder that the whole surrounding area was named after him, even to this day. 

The variety of the place:

I loved the flowers and wild grass species rippling freely in the breeze along the pathways, as we walked back towards the chapel again.  

Then we moved on, down the other side of the church, to another whole different scene. Like weeds, strange plants grew vertically there in the desert-like stony scene.

Needless to say we spent a lot of time at Lake Tekapo, exploring the diversity it had to offer.  

Sort:  

each and every place you have share with us is really very beautiful @artguru,You have captured great photos,You are really an expert,New Zealand is my biggest dream to visit,I hope one day I will also go there,By the you have wonderful adventure there,Upvoted and resteemed.I hope you will reply.

You are right, everywhere we went in New Zealand was a wonderful experience. Everything was awesome. But then again perhaps it's because I have adventurist heart, love going to new places. And maybe because it's the artist in me that likes exploring to find new things to paint.

thanks to reply very soon @artguru,I am looking forward to your wonderful post and I will always upvote and resteem your post.

The view and place is really awesome! Nice post thanks for sharing these peaceful looking places :)

i just like to your travelling...enjoying the day to your journey.very nice place and very beutifull picture .i like this photography, i hope your next post very good again....
thnx for share this post with us. . dear friend @artguru

The next place is the little town of Twizel. And you will see two oil paintings of mine in that NZ blog.

Umm.. this post make me wanna go there. Love love

Another day of travelling just like you did a few days back, These more beautiful pictures you took again this time.
That's a lot of nature in the surrounding.
It must have been so fun.

Thanks for keep following me and my travels. I appreciate that very much.
Yes, each day brought new adventures and fantastic things to see.
We had `a time of our lives', we'll never forget.

Welcome, most of these posts are so interesting.

very nice and very informative post. i followed you because u always share valuable content,keep sharing such posts.very good, I am happy to share kind your important imformation.
By regular read your post i known more about steemit imformatio..
Go ahead
many thanks to you this like shareing,
Cool to see posts like this that support our content creators. Amazing to see how much traction this one gained!
Follow me @mustafarazy

Thanks so much for following. Being on Steemit is fun. Great people here to share with.

wauhhh....i do like traveling and you really add a lot to me in your traveling adventures. Having experienced such a wonderful experience makes me realize that this world has a lot to offer. The pictures are really clear and honestly i can't stop envy your trip and feel like i would have gone with you.

I never knew what to expect around each corner, so it was a great adventure for me. Glad you enjoyed this blog. The next NW blog will have some of my paintings, two oils of river scenes in Twizel.

A lot of familiar places! I traveled around NZ with the Stray bus in 2014! :)

How much did you enjoy your trip? Which towns and places did impress you the most?

I enjoyed it a lot! It's hard to pick, but I guess the Tongariro crossing and the area around Mount Cook!

I understand why it's so hard for you to choose. Everywhere you go, its so beautiful.

Hello and welcome @artguru I have missed Your adventures :)
Really look like a simple beautiful island Nature
I really liked these photos especially the mountain and beach photos
did you see the sheep?
They say about it? The sheep are more than human beings
Really welcome back and thank you :)

Glad you enjoyed.
I try to post a New Zealand blog every Wednesday. So if you have missed out the ones in between, go to my @artguru page and check up on all the New Zealand icon images.

super pictures I could feel the adventure here,I am just hearing about it,excellent article
I have learnt something new from your post today,your photos say alot about this,Keep writting great
Stuff and Stay Blessed!You are really a good script writer
I appreciate it once again that I understood where I should see what you wrote this post.It's Interesting post,
kept me engaged

More on my NZ series can be found on my @artguru page.
I smile when you say such nice things about my writing... my teachers at school, if they are still alive, would laugh too. My grammar was horrific!! There is hope for us yet!

you write superb i saw your post today now i m regular see your posts or wait,i love nature or photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46