Fox Glacier, here we come!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

On the west coast of New Zealand’s south island are a high range of mountains. One of which is so lofty that it holds in its peaks, a glacier. We were on our way there.

Vast fascinating lakes:

We saw such beautiful panoramic view of lakes on the way to Fox Glacier. I thought they would be really lovely to paint, perhaps some time in the future!

Great scenes around every corner!

Going around the mountainsides, bordering the lakes, the car weaved in and out gullies and round the curves of hillsides.  

Going in and out like this made it difficult to get good shots of scenes through the gaps between the trees, bushes and signposts, etc on the side of the road.  

You see, one has to allow for the camera’s shutter speed timing, and look out for the gaps, at the same time as sizing up the possibilities of good scenery, well ahead. It takes a lot of concentration and frustration. 

Possible close ups?

At one lake the sun was trying to peep through the clouds and was spotlighting the opposite bank. The patchwork on the sunlight against the darker shadow areas caught my eye.  

As the car was moving, I looked across a lake and tried to capture the strange effect of the mountain dipping it’s feet in the lake.  So I zoomed in with my camera and this is what I saw: 

I feel it could possibly be turned into an abstract someday, don’t you think? Of cause one would have to use their imagination quite a bit and pronounce some colours and contrast some tones! 

The cold plays silly tricks on me!

And of course the weather was very cold with snow-capped mountains. And with me concentrating so close to the window and breathing hard with frustration, naturally my window started misting up!  

You get so involved with what you’re doing, calculating your shots, it’s so easy to miss the fact the window is actually misting up more and more.

 

 

Suddenly I realized why I was having trouble focusing!  

So I quickly swiped the windowpane and completely forgot I had just clicked the camera shutter! It naturally captured an iced up blur! You can see the weird result in the last photo in this collage:

  

In spite of that!

It didn’t stop me from assessing some of those blurred photos, and this is what I came up with. 

An oil painting of the misty mountains:

As usual my camera doesn’t do justice to close ups!  Strange patchy shapes appeared and the painting looks blurred. 

Our New Zealand family was here in South Africa recently. And when our son saw the original of oil painting here, he immediately recognized the place and said, “The mist roaming the mountain tops was just like that!” 

A PS passing word: 

If you have wondered what has happened to my New Zealand oil paintings. I gave my family the paintings to take back to New Zealand. But the future ones, I still have to paint on New Zealand, will be here in South Africa. 

Sort:  

It's named after Sir William Fox,isn't it. The former prime minister of New Zealand.
The fox glacier is a must watch like many other places of New Zealand.
Amazing photography anyways. The oil painting is incredible too.

I write all about Fox Glacier in my next travel blog. Including links to that info.

All right. I will be waiting for that

There was too much to put in one blog. So I had to split it.

I am a fan of your posts now..
You are in reality an artguru,master of art.
Despite the image being a bit blurred i like hiw the stream matches up with the rocks near the bank

Thank you for your kind remarks. The light was spotlighting the far sandbank area, and the stony area was is shadow.

this is a very wonderfull place of new zealand,s south island.you showing always best place of world.i hope that,you enjoy your travel trip of Fox Glacier..this high mountains looks very attractive and pretty..i imagine i am going this excellent place of my dream and enjoy doing my good time with my family and you.but i don,t know when my dream whether it will be real? you capture every lake photo very perfectly.all place see to similar heaven.you are really lucky person because you living wonderfull place and travelling doing best place in the world.just talented creativity.every word you write very properly step to step..thank you sharing for your for your beautifull place of new zealand and remarkable photography..very well done for your best work.take care yourself..my dear friend. @artguru i appreciate your post and obviously respect your knowledge quality..

You talk of dreaming of going to New Zealand. And I can tell you... I still dream of been there myself! I was such an exciting place to be. But been with family makes it even more fantastic. They really went out of their way to make it so special.

obviously right opinion.my dear friend @artguru i appreciate ur comment..because every word use doing proper place and telling style really very perfect and orginallvery well done. best of luck of your great work.

Mountains dancing in the mist with there feet in the lake,this is completely a peace giving scene....
Wish i could have joined you ....
Best part is you creating a memory of every visit....Surely i will keep this my hobby when my studies is done...

Actually you can be anywhere and it can be great. I suppose it is possible, if you have an adventurous heart and spirit. And... you appreciate and soak up all you see while travelling.

Tremendous shot of the mountain and the lake. Taking such a pic from a difficult position requires a degree of skill your blessed to have. You brought out every detail that can be used around the world to talk about the physical features in New Zealand. It's no surprise your son easily told the place by just looking at the art piece. Great talent @artguru. We are so proud to have you on steemit.

If you really love what you do and do it often, you learn from those experiences. The fact is, talent is gained from pursuing and taking up challenges. Not been afraid, even against opposition, still doing what you believe in.

wawoow beautiful new zealand and beautiful places these glaciers are looks soo beautiful and full of nature that sometime i feel that they are edited so much beautiful i am in love with Fox Glacier and wish to be their atleast once thanks for sharing such beautiful travel photography and knowledge mam @artguru

You see such beauty, in everything you see, when you have an open willing heart.

soo true beauty is in heart and to see beauty and nature your heart should be pure!

Never knew New Zealand was this beautiful, the lake is amazing. Would add it to my bucket list. Thought of going to Valencia in Spain, now new Zealand is 2nd

Travel is becoming more difficult these days, with countries visas been blocked with silly regulations. So I hope all goes well with your trips.

Wow such green fields. Well ididnt know newzealand really had village fields like these. Feels.reLly good to know.

The first photo in this blog (with the green field) is actually repeated as an icon image, for each of my New Zealand travel blogs. The reason I do that, is for people recognize another serial blog on my New Zealand trip, has been posted, for them to catch up on.

seems like you have captured all the beauty of newzealand in travel series,i was not aware that Newzealand is such a green place.Lakes ,mountains and cold weather what else one need
great scenes all around
bdw you are a good photographer also
some awesome shots

New Zealand has such diverse climates and terrain. That's whats makes it so exciting about it.

When I look at your travel reports in New Zealand, I get an aesthetic pleasure. There is nothing luchshe than "plunge" into nature.

If I'm not mistaken, but you visit places in which everywhere you can see something amazing. That is, you get out of the car and no matter what direction you turn your head, you will see a beautiful landscape.

Lakes deserve much attention. It's nice to see how the big lake harmonizes against the background of the mountains. It's unusual. In such photos you have successfully increased the scale and showed calm nature. In such a place, meditation would have turned out well :). But as before, the most important adornment of your messages are your pictures. I guess drawing a picture for you is a common thing. Some people do not have enough inspiration. But your journeys are a real inspiration.
Thank you, I'm waiting for the continuation :)

My New Zealand worked out the travel plans, town to town, place to place. Weren't they so clever?!
The beauty of New Zealand's lakes certainly has a profound affect on one's soul!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95