Come see the famous flower show!

in #travel5 years ago

It was amazing and we were so lucky to be there on the day it opened for showing too!

 

The famous Northern Transvaal spring festival:

Every year the town of Magoebaskloof has a springtime flower show. Not just in the town, but there is are also flower shows in the surrounding Haenertsburg beautiful nature reserves and farms too.

With all the flower displays and beautiful nature reserves it’s  a super place for tourists, especially in the early spring. 

So after breakfast we ventured out, to see what was so exciting about this spring flower show in the town. 

First the hobby hall:

Parking our car close to where the flower show was, to our surprise we first encountered a hall full of arts and crafts stuff. From clothing to jewellery, you name it, they had it. 

Wow, these people in the town and surrounding areas were really talented. As we entered and perused around the large room, each stall had something different to offer, not just the usual curio stuff you see for tourists. 

And of cause, most of the people are of the farming community. So there were sweets, bottle jams, fruit juices and fresh garden produce too. Everything was so tempting, I can tell you. 

It was hard to move on, and look for the flowers… 

In the flower hot house:

The flower display canopy was next to the town’s hotel. And when you walked into it, you were overcome by the many beautiful varieties of orchids, each one more stunning than the last. 

Let me show you them, one by one:

First the lilies: 


Fantastic hey! They are so beautiful I just had to show you one by one so you could really enjoy them.

Oh, well, we had to move on… 

And outside the orchid house:

There were more flowers to see, like you would see at a garden nursery. But what took my fancy were the poppies: 

I just love paintings poppies:

How many times in the past I had been commissioned to paint them! Poppies make fantastic abstract paintings too, whether in watercolours or oil paints. 

Here is a large oil painting I did many years ago that our youngest daughter now owns:

 

And lingering in the hotel gardens:

I also came across this beautiful scene of a flowering tree with a deep valley behind it: 

Did you enjoy the flower show too? 

Sort:  

welcome to steemit congratulations for your post. that's great adventure... thanks for visiting my post... best of luck

I think you are new mate, so welcome to you, She is old and a very experienced steemian.

Thanks for sticking up for me. I generally smile when one one thinks I'm new to Steemit.

Why did you think @kretorkk I'm new to Steemit?! You have been following my posts on and off for sometime now. So it's great to have you back again.

Spring festival as its best ;)

It was nice to look back on happy times. And posting the photos of the flowers was very uplifting, because it's winter right now here in South Africa!

Oh very glorgious photograpy. Very great flowers. Happy to see beautiful flowers. Thanks for sharing dear.

So nice to share beautiful things with you.

Wao what a wonderful flowers. Natural beauty always attracts the peoples and flowers gives many postitive effects on our health. White flower is my favourite of your collection. Thanks for sharing.@artguru.

It was a pleasure to share those photos of the flowers with you.

Very beautiful flowers, especially orchids. I like the same poppies. Spring in our places poppies bloom in the steppes and around the red fields, it is so beautiful.

Wow, those red poppies are glorious. Fields upon fields of them!

I think today is the day for me to have some smile after watching these beautiful photographs.

Yes, flowers do put a smile on our faces, don't they!

Oh my goodness how beautiful! Flowers are the most beautiful of all plants in many ways :) the colours are spectacular and I do love your painting! What a lovely day this must have been :)

Thank you for liking my oil painting. Up till now only you has noticed, that one of the photos was actually a painting.

My goodness!
Oh how I love flowers😍
I wish I could go round such places
It would be quite a great adventure

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, it was a great adventure, something we will always treasure.

I wish i could visit this beautiful place.

Have you a garden? Sometimes our own gardens can be just as beautiful.

Hello @artguru, how are you doing? What an amazing flower exhibition. I enjoy all the flowers that you share, ma'am. Everything is very beautiful. I want to be there. Have a nice day, ma'am.

I love going to plant nurseries. Especially if they have a tea garden there too. And while you eat, drink and talk with your family or friends, you can look out on the flowers. It does so much for the soul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.48
ETH 2731.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42