Buffalo herds came to drink!

in #travel5 years ago

This is what we saw on our last day in the Kruger National Park, just before we left and drove west, out the Phalaborwe Gate. 

To catch up with where we left off:

Remember we were at the Masorini Archaeological Site, where I went up the hill, where leopards are supposed to hang out! 

Leaving the leopard rock area, we went back towards the Sable dam site. Check out the map below, to see where we were at the Masorini Site and where the Sable dam area is: 

As we travelled along, we looked around at the scenery: 

Bird watching can be confusing:

Even though I take photos for art, our daughter and my husband watch out for wild birds. When they see a bird they seen before, they mark them off in their bird books and where they found them, etc.  

Sometimes they can’t make out what type of bird they’re looking at, even with their binoculars. So I take photos of the birds too for them. Here is one bird we couldn’t recognize: 

This bird on top of a dry tree was very far away from where we sat in our car. My camera hasn’t a very nice long range zoom, as you can see, so my photo is rather blurred.  

I can’t tell you what type of bird it really is. But because of the shape of the beak it must be a raptor, perhaps a harrier or an eagle.  

The reason we couldn’t find it in the bird books, is maybe it could be a junior. Because young birds have different colouring to their adult parents, and this one looks all fluffed up. 

At the Sable river dam:

This time we checked out the East side the Sable dam. And found the Buffalo were coming down to the water’s edge to drink, mingling around before casually moving off again, back into the bush. 

Notice how the buffalo on the left, and in the foreground, is on guard and checking us out!

This last collage is actually one panoramic scene. See where you can join it up!?

We move our car,

From one area to the next, to get close-ups of the buffalo and different viewpoints of the scene. Insert the collage Buffalo leaving Sable dam: And I’m sure you’re thinking, it’s about time I showed you another of my paintings… 

So here is an oil painting:

Taking all those photos of the buffalo into consideration, I put together this painting: 

Hope you enjoy it. 

Next travel posts:

We left Kruger National park and travelled westward to see more of what the northern part of South Africa had to offer. So from now on, I’ll be inserting a new icon image for those posts: 

 

But remember, it’s still part of our trip of that holiday we had together!  

Sort:  

Such amazing animals

Posted using Partiko Android

Buffalo may seem amazing to tourists, but to me they just look like wild cattle.
But I don't think I would get out our cars to pat them! He!he!

Wao another trip of kruger national park. happy to see you. You are so enjoying with your family. Without water we can noy live. All bufaloa drinking water and looks so beautiful. I m big fan of your oil painting. Your combination of colours are always great and amazing. I m so enjoying your painting. Thanks for sharing.@artguru.

Always a pleasure to share with you.
Here in South Africa we can have some really dry years. Like now, we are not suppose to water our gardens during the day. And that's hard during dry winters.

Wow! Wow! Wow!
Hello South Africa ...

Hi @artgutu, visit your post like visiting Kruger National Park directly.❤

Thank you for this free spectacle.👌

Greetings from afar 🙏

Glad you enjoyed our Kruger Park adventure. I hope you will continue to follow through on our trip as we journey on through the northern section of South Africa.

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

OMG!

Really, Kruger National Park became a list of my trips one day.

***

3HaJVw3AYyXBGAuhNvQW3dPitkQvriUZDkrQ3bQBuz7pKPJ2987EJkTmPs39Y44wMRRWonHQudUjrNzMxedqwd6jgk9aWD5B3Jtg5eE.jpeg
Love!
Remarkable!

This is a large oil painting. The original seems to have more atmospheric ambiance. Sadly, reducing pixels for downloading spoils photos of paintings.

It is very famous park. I m watching this park in the tv show. I think it is very big park. Many big and dengerous animals in this park. Bufalo is very beautiful animal. Cows gives you milk. Milk gives you nutrients to your body. And see your painting. Its fabulous.

I don't think I would like to milk a wild buffalo cow!!
See that mean looking bull buffalo, he would have sorted me out big time!!

How interesting it is. I would like to see everything with my own eyes. The bird really looks like an eagle. Thank you for sharing @artguru.These are amazing photos.

You as so right. Been right there is something, I can tell you!
Doing a post, you can't show everything you saw, or how you felt about things as they happened.

Wow .. your photos are very beautiful. I like to see photos of wild buffalo drinking on the river. But are there no crocodiles there? Have a nice day @artguru.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57729.24
ETH 3118.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37