Being patient while game watching!

in #travel6 years ago

You never know another animal may suddenly appear and you could miss some exciting action if you moved off too quickly!

Knowing this, 

We slow down the car, and were more careful in our endeavour to search for animals between the trees and bush.  

You can so easily miss something because wild animals are so well camouflaged against the colours and patterns of the bush. 

With careful scrutiny:

When all of a sudden, we spotted a huge black lump far back in the bush to our left! So we stopped the car quickly to check it out.  

Could it have been a massive rounded black rock… or was it something lying down? Our daughter stopped the car so we could have a better look.  

We peered out our car windows at the thing. My daughter and my husband focused on it with their binoculars and I zoomed in with my camera. 

What was it?

It looked like a hippo lying on its side with its back towards us. And I took a photo of it. 

Gosh! You don’t normally see a hippo out of the water during the middle of the day. They generally keep cool in a river, during the heat of the day.  

They usually only leave the water to graze at night, and this one was very far from a river!  So what was it doing there? 

We hoped it was just sleeping, and not sick or something!? Then another thought came into our minds. What if a lion discovered it?! It really wasn’t safe lying there! 

Oh well, there wasn’t anything we could do about it, I’m sure. And nothing was happening. It stayed very still. No lion came or anything to check it out. So we eventually moved off, hoping it was going to be alright!? 

And it wasn’t long before we saw… 

More Nyala buck:

 

If you look carefully you will see two buck standing in the background. One is standing behind the other. 

Okay, for those who want to know how I painted this buck oil painting

  1. The canvas I buy is already primed with white paint. I always prepare a lot of canvases at one time, by giving them an overall wash of raw sienna and turpentine. And leave them to dry, and then store them away for later use. 
  2. When starting to paint a scene, I lightly draw in the scene with a small brush. The colour I use at this stage depends on the basic colours of the scene. And I don’t draw in every detail. Just a line or two here and there to position the objects in the composition, to know where the horizon outline is and basic outline of objects in the scene. Nothing tidy and do fine detail. 
  3. This makes it easy in the next stage, to know where to block-in the basic colours of those areas. Example: working from the top of the canvas, the sky area first, then the back hill, then the foreground. The tone level of the colours at this block-in stage is fairly dark, because in oils you work from dark to light. 
  4. As I add lighter colours, it helps to leave the colours of the subtle atmospheric conditions in and immediate surroundings of the trees against the sky and in the pinholes in the foliage. And also close to the foreground bushy weeds. 
  5. You see, as you work you add details you think will give you the right effect. Remember you can’t paint perfectly as God created. So you have to leave out the fine tidily bits (like every tiny twig) and suggest the rest, to create lovely atmospheric conditions instead. 
  6. To get the moody atmospheric effect of the scene, I interplay the different shades and tints of the colours until I’m happy with the result. This includes adding the highlights.

PS: You can go to my personal website: www.adafagan.co.za, to see more of my paintings if you like. And there are also free art book downloads if you are interested.

You see how the buck nibble at the tiniest little spring leaves off the bushes. They were so intent on eating the leaves, they weren’t concerned about us at all. I think they are such regal animals. 

Next week’s travel blog:

You will find another oil painting to check out. 

Sort:  

A little bit of patience will always be good for you

I've tried been patient, but I still have trouble with been patient. So I make lists and plan things to make them happen. ;)

Oh well yeah, if you are adventure like you are, you need to go slow, so that you couldn't miss the thing happening around you or may be something you came to see, usually animal fear humans and human vehicles, so whenever they see it, they hide somewhere and human miss the adventure they had come for.

The trick to see wild animals, you have to look in between the trees and bushes. I you are moving fast down the road, you are just seeing the whole landscape. You miss the little obscure things happening deep within the bush.
That's what it is like in real life too. We miss so much, because we are always in such a hurry!

Yes, my honourable mam @artguru is real heroic and also animal lover.like mam you

Posted using Partiko Android

Really an original paiting..As first sight I thought it was a picture taken by a camera..Travel and painting are like the air we breathe.

I think and live art. So I see beauty in everything, I suppose. Like the painting I will be putting in next week's travel blog. Its isn't a painting you would normally hang on your wall. But it was such a dramatic scene, I couldn't resist painting it.

a very interesting trip for me I really like your travel always good luck @artguru.

Thank you. Great to have you visit.

You are welcome @artguru.

great post my dear frend @artguru
And wonderful writing
Greetings

Glad you enjoyed it. Kind tidings to you too.

I hope the Hippopotamus will be fine there. Thank you for the amazing and very pleasant link filled with a million inspiration.🙏

This is very important key in life

Wao you are so enjoying your travel.Kruger is my favourite park.I think this hippo is so tired.And sleeping.This is very big hippo.Hopefully lion is not coming.What a beautiful work.Very interesting painting.Very wonderful colours combinations in this painting.Nyala buck looks so beauyiful in the painting.buck is so cute animal.Very impressive photography.Your cam result is to good.I also enjoying your travel.Thanks for sharing.@Artguru.

Just visited your website and witnessed many wonderful paintings and articles...thank you for sharing..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44