A close up rendezvous with nature!

in #travel5 years ago

We were on our way through Northern Transvaal, to our next stop-over place, to stay for another few days.

What else?

After seeing and having such fun at the huge old baobab tree, the dry open countryside didn’t seem so exciting. Almost a feeling of a let-down! 

Or was it just my mood? We had seen so much and had such a wonderful time. How would the rest of our trip be like? 

As the car speed along,

Come on, behave yourself!” I said to myself, “There must be some beautiful scene out there that I could photograph and perhaps paint someday!?”  

Our daughter could see I wished to take some photos of the passing scenery, so she stopped the car for me. Stopping the car doesn’t always give you a straight-up perfect scene, you have to hunt around a bit to get that. 

 

With the first (left) photo in the collage, I had to walk off the road and down a steep embankment, to take that bushy snapshot.  

  • If you look carefully, sometimes a scene like that can be changed into an abstract painting by contrasting tones and colours. 

At another stop, when our daughter stopped the car, I walked up and down the road, trying to get better angled shots. This is all I could find: 

And a little later on, I took this photo: 

It seems not all my effort was lost. Out of the photos I took that day, I did at least get one that I could paint. Here it is: 

An oil painting of the dry Northern Transvaal:

 

Looking down from the road, I must admit the composition was somewhat compromised. It’s not advisable to leave out the base of a tree in a painting.  

But in this case I didn’t have much of an option. The main part of the tree had a silly unbalanced shape. An odd shaped branch sticking out over the countryside! But as you can see, it acts perfectly as a frame to the scene. 

  • I had fun slashing a long thin brush, here and there, to get those finicky twigs and foreground grass. 
  • What’s also fascinating to do, is inter-playing warm and cool colours to achieve soft-blurred shadows. 

Lodging at the Bali:

Moving on, we drove through the town of Haenertsburg, and going south into the countryside, we booked into a B&B. A quaint homely place perched on the hillside and partly surrounded by forest. 

Our rooms were lovely and the beds just right for `Mommy and Daddy bear’ and of cause `Baby bear’! So it wasn’t so surprising that we slept soundly, comfy and happily until morning. 

The next day:

We were up and early in the morning, to see the famous flower festival in the town. And what a spectacle it was… but that I will show you in our next travel post! 

Sort:  

What a wonderful place to see

Posted using Partiko Android

Wao what wonderful places. You are always enjoying travel with your family. Life is nothing without family. Natural beauty always attracts the peoples and gives positive effects on your health. Thanks for sharing. @artguru.

I'm glad you can always travel and enjoy nature with your family, ma'am. It seems that you really enjoy happiness. Have a nice day.

Great review @artguru and these photos of your walk in nature look amazing!

Our life is very stressfull. Travelling is best way how to relief your tenshion. All places are so wonderful.

thats amazing thATS HONOUR TO ME TO SEE THIS . THATS #AMAZING . KEEP IT UP . GOOD LUCK

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56