#4 Travel Log – Down the West CoaststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Kattegattleden

SkyltKattegattledenVarberg.jpg

Summary:

Route: Jönköping->Helsingborg
Distance: 468
Duration: 11 days (7 days of cycling)
Untitled2.png

Day 17:

mmexport1499028522209.jpg
So after relaxing in Sauna and some sightseeingin Jönköping, I finally leave Vättern behind and head further West.
IMG_20170609_194614.jpgA lovely young couple from warmshowers.org invited me to stay at their place closeby Boras and I get amazing food and some homebrewed beer.

Day 18:

Then I am finally of to Gothenburg, Swedens Second-biggest city, and people told me it's the most lively city in the country.
IMG_20170529_125238_1.jpg

Arriving in Gothenburg - No pictures here since I lost my memory card :(

I stay at another young couples place and get to do some well needed laundry.

Day 19:

The next day I move to two young Spanish Exchange Students' place and get a private City Tour by Bike.

Day 20:

I was planning to leave Gothenburg behind, but there is a lot of rain and wind coming from the South. Oh and my hosts organized a small festival in the Student dormitory yard with music and barbeque. So I stay another night and finally head south on the next day.

Day 21:

I would cycle along the Kattegadleden, Swedens first National cycle route, taking me 370km along the Swedish West coast from Gothenburg to Helsingborg.
The weather is finally kind of nice :)
I share most of the distance with a fun Dutch guy on a recumbent.
Then I follow an invitation for dinner from a couple on the way. I think the only thing I have to tell you about them is:
The only counted trips longer then 6 weeks as a real biketour.
Continuing further until Åsa, I find an deserted house to stay in. A hammock is also perfect to stay inside. :)
IMG_20170609_131751.jpg

Day 22:

No having to worry about direction since I can just follow the sign I continue on Kattegattleden.
I met a inspiring German pensioner couple, who spend most of summer every year doing self supported biketours around Scandinavia. I visit the Varberg caste and the city festival (It's national day and there is stuff happening everywhere around - Still no pictures)
IMG_20170608_182855.jpg
Two nights and a day of full rain and wind were approaching, so I started looking unsuccesfully for a host on warmshowers, so I went back to couchsurfing. I never got lucky there last minute before, but there in the middle of nowhere around 10pm I get an answer from a guy there. He would always be happy to accommodate a bike tourer. He turns out to be an avid sportsguy and its a pleasure to stay in his house with his dog.
IMG_20170607_080706.jpg

Day 23:

I finally have a day to get some stuff done (except for writing a blog post, thats why I'm incredibly late now).

Day 24:

So after a day off I'm back on the road. I visit my host at his workplace in Halmstadt and continue onto Kattvik which is situated on a peninsula, many of the Swedes i met on the recommended to me. And can watch a lonely fisherman close to the tip.
IMG_20170609_132854.jpg
I find a nice place to camp just at the beach protected by the trees around.
It would rain alot but my Tarp is serving me well and i stay mostly dry :D
IMG_20170609_110752.jpg

Day 25:

Just south of that Peninsula the is another one called Kullaberg, featuring impressive cliffs and Sweden's brightest Lighttower, already being over 100 years old.
IMG_20170609_201948.jpgIMG_20170609_202338.jpgIMG_20170609_211515.jpg
IMG_20170609_214836.jpg
Closeby are camping shelters and a fireplace, because of more rain during the night I put up my hammock in the rain shelter and sleep comfortably and dry.

Day 26:

The next morning I have breakfast with a local girl who spends her weekend hiking along the cliffs of Mölle I cycle of early. It's a lot of fun driving mostly downhill to Helsingborg. mmexport1499028484630.jpgWhere I arrive around noon and board the ferry to my next destination and my 28th country to visit: Denmark!IMG_20170610_121333.jpg

Sorry for being so late, I've been busy planning my next life chapter, and I am more then excited to be able to announce it soon.

Sort:  

i like your post my friend

Thanks appreciate it :)

Excellent blog - thank you!

Thank you for reading :)

If I knew you would have come to Gothenburg I would have invited you to our communal crypto community @artesian.life , maybe next time, good luck on your journey! ;)

My hometown is Halmstad, how was that, quite beautiful huh? :)

You have a typo btw, "Halmstadt" -> "Halmstad"

Awesome post mate! Love staying up to date with your adventures. Unlucky with the memory card though.

All the best mate, look forward to hearing the next instalment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65448.52
ETH 3556.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50