You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Khmerican Family Abroad | #3 - The Great Ecuador Exodus Pt. 2

in #travel5 years ago

haha... you sure have a way of drawing out a simple travel story. :) Capers? Yes please. But you got there... All is well.

The huge list tags at the end of your post? They're as likely to irritate as attract attention. No need. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain
Sort:  

Thanks for the read. I've now cut down the tags a bit, trying to keep it relevant to travel curators. As I don't have many followers just yet, I didn't know any other way to give possibly interested curators a look at my content. I now know the more effective and much longer, harder way is to join Discord communities. I'm working on my Steemit knowledge, but have little time to get more content exposure after spending so much time producing the stories.

It was a loooong read. Very few curators have that level of time or attention span. Travel curators also tend to be most interested in the destinations rather than the tiny details of the journey . It has taken me 18 months to build 866 followers. Discord has its place but can be a huge time-waster. Post GREAT content and you will get noticed, curated, resteemed and upvoted. Use your 10 tags well.

Pro Tip? UPVOTE every comment on your material, and be a generous commentor on others' posts. No necessary to always upvote - but engage. Yes, a lot of skim reading. :)

I realize time is limited not only for me, but most Steemit users. I am reformatting in my mind how I will approach storytelling for future posts. Definitely in shorter segments to start with. I now realize people don't necessarily join Steemit primarily for good content.

I think you're wrong. Today's ecotrain curation show that too. People come to steemit for different values, and decentralised-no-censorship. And content. And community. Stories sometimes. If they're uplifting and have a point. The mini-detail of someone's practical life ISN"T always that easy for others to engage with, unless it has a common point of reference for them.....

An hour a day on steem to post, comment and upvote is more than enough. Epic sagas not the best investment of your time.

I understand there is a portion of people that come here for content. Honestly though if I wanted some travel info for Ecuador I would just google it. My first thought wouldn't be Steemit. I chose Steemit because what I write isn't really a traditional travel blog. I find when I travel, it's not about the beaches or the hotels, or the all the other things people blog about. For me it's about people. We've lived here almost 3 months and have only had money and time to venture out for a half-day two times.

For me life is all about people, knowledge, language and stories. When I travel that is my focus too, and I love finding out the details and history of someone's life, and finding out what makes them tick. I am trying to share this portion of my life through my stories here on Steemit.

I realize the details of our life are probably boring for many crypto wizards and Steemians. I do hope, however that a portion of readers find it interesting and even get some laughs from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63441.26
ETH 2477.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64