Daily Mindfulness practice: Pre-travel anxiety/projecting the mind into future events

in #travel7 years ago

WIN_20170703_13_46_45_Pro.jpg
Me taking a moment to gather myself, and calm the mind, in Atlanta Airport.

Preparing for Adventure

P1300389.gif

This particular gif was made yesterday as my last day before some heavy duty traveling. The day before any big event in life tends to make the mind scramble itself for a sense of assurance. Assurance that everything will turn out for the better. But as I grow older and gather experiences I realize you can never predict what the coming days in your life will look like.

I am traveling due to work. A new job to be exact! Thoughts of inadequacy fill my days lately. My desire to rise to the occasion and be the best filmmaker I can possibly fuels that anxiety. During this meditation I came to the conclusion that the only thing I really can do is trust myself. Trust the order of events and synchronic happenings that have led to such a thing come into my life. At a certain point all you can really do is relax and go along for a ride. For me to project into the future of my life in another country and collaborating with other creative minds is futile, because like almost anything in life its all in the moment. Nothing premeditated will be of value.

P1310192.gif

When I pack for big trips like this, I always feel more calm. It brings me into the present, gives me something to do with my hands and allows me to actually take action for future events, rather than play out possible scenarios in my mind.

In the coming days I will be sharing more thoughts and experiences of my travel and where my mind tries to go in the process. It is my desire to keep an air of calm and mental stability. As exciting as it is to travel and have these adventures, the days and moments leading up to it are scary. Scary because the monkey mind likes to play tricks likes to fear things that aren't real.

Thanks for reading and stopping by. Please follow for travel updates and fun adventures to come. In a very short time I will be in Barcelona. I will need to find housing and start to find my 'places'. I will begin to get comfortable with the city and find little adventures along the way. I want to document the mental aspect of such things. Yes it is a beautiful city full of beautiful people, and trust me you are going to get some good travel vlogs along the way. But what is the point of it all if it doesn't teach you something. If it doesn't make you different, better.

Love,
Jake
arq with steem png.png

Sort:  

safe travels brother :) so excited for you!!

Thanks brother.

Rad, hope the new job is everything you want and that you have a super adventure! Breathe!

Thank you @paleotreats breathe in, breathe out!

Or, as Wim Hof says, "Breathe, Motherfucker!" :)

Good information

Congratulations @arqetype! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @arqetype! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42