Chapter 3 - Ride It Somewhere Awesome : 3000 miles journey across India

in #travel7 years ago

Read --- Chapter 1 - The Pain: 3000 miles journey across India

Read --- Chapter 2 - Circle ofConfusion: 3000 miles journey across India

I have known people who owned bikes which were built to circumnavigate the globe. But how often do they satisfy the wanderlust?
A month back while returning from a solo ride, I pulled up at a traffic signal. A car stopped beside me when I looked down, the elderly driver handed me a pamphlet which was printed with images of three motorcyclists with the same bike as mine. The picture was accompanied by an appeal ‘Ride It Somewhere Awesome’, the driver was planning a long trip with likeminded people and looking for more to join them.

With conversation curtailed by green signal, we parted; with him telling me how his previous long journey has added ten years to his life and he planned to add more to his positive balance. I still remember that incidence, just not sure whether it actually happened or I just dreamt it.

Reading all the books and blogs while preparing for the trip, I noted that 'Line of Tropic of Cancer' lies around 20kms before Himmatnagar, Gujarat, India. It was an undone task of my ever increasing bucket list.

‘Himmatnagar - 15kms’ said the signboard.

Did I miss it; I cannot afford to turn back, damn! How could I be so casual? I always wanted to see one. The speedometer quickly dropped from 100 to 60, I felt bad. I knew I would never travel 800kms just to see a signboard. This trip was one good opportunity and I lost it. I moved on with a heavy heart.

‘Himmatnagar – 13kms’, suddenly I was grinning inside my helmet. The left indicator was glowing, I had my left arm out, and I had no intentions to go further. I finally found the blue signboard which said

“TROPIC OF CANCER IS PASSING FROM HERE”

10659210_4756334684439_8047656325157772502_n.jpg

I spent my precious twenty minutes in mid-noon of October, taking pictures of the board from all angles possible. Few selfies, few solos, few with June, I was taking as many pictures as possible. I was happy and fresh as I started 800kms, 20hours back.

I kicked start June, took a last glance at the board and was on move.

Udaipur, Rajasthan -- 193kms

Quickly, few more bends: and I have an honor of India’s finest roads. Soon my speed snapped it, and I heard only the cry of the wind. A glance at a speedometer: Hundred and Ten. I pulled the throttle as we dipped, June loved it. A shift to left, a shift to right, again left, again right until we were passing through some of the beautiful curves of these low range mountains, it was a merry dance where the viewer cannot decide, who had the lead. The weighted machine launched itself like a sleek queen on a ramp with the whirr of the wheel, while the thump echoed across the valleys announcing its arrival to the Aravalis (Mountain range).

350kms for the day so far, I stopped at first village in the state of Rajasthan - Bicchiwada. I had been riding for almost 5hours with no food break. I was yet to decide whether I would halt at Chittorgarh, or carry on to Jaipur. I left it on the road to decide.

With hot tea, and Samosa, I looked back at parked June, I could feel that she was enjoying the trip as much as me. I knew I had to understand her more, and her abilities. We together could create stories and visit many more places which people would call ‘Somewhere awesome... ‘

To Be Continued ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26