Creating Elite Players: Newsletter Day 52

in #travel2 years ago

day-52.jpeg

Today, I woke up to find a message on my phone saying my Airbnb booking couldn't be completed.

"Fine," I thought. "I can find somewhere else."

As it turns out, it's not that they couldn't complete the booking. It was more so that they couldn't complete it as is.

I eventually got on the phone with them and they informed me that there was only one bedroom available. The second bedroom couldn't be used.

"That's not a problem," I said.

"But there was also an error with the Airbnb system," they told me. "We can't give you the suite for the price you booked it at."

There was a new proposal waiting for me in the Airbnb app. They hadn't quite doubled the cost of the stay, but they'd increased it by a few hundred dollars. After telling me that I was going to be minus a room.

"If that's going to be the cost of the stay, you can go ahead and cancel it," I told them.

But they asked me what I thought was a reasonable cost, so I shared my thoughts with them. Eventually, they came back and agreed to my proposal.

From all this I had gathered that these were Airbnb newbies, so I wasn't too surprised to find that, upon my arrival, the Wi-Fi login information was posted nowhere in the suite. They eventually got it to me, so no harm, no foul.

It was quiet at the suite. "I can finally relax for a bit," I thought. And, for about an hour and a half, it was quiet.

Then I heard some steps upstairs.

"Oh well, so much for that."

If it was just the owners coming home, I wouldn't have minded too much.

Before I knew it, though, the music was going, along with what sounded like 30 to 40 people partying upstairs, kids and all.

This is still going on as I write this.

Now, I get that it's Saturday night. I can appreciate that. The people upstairs probably had a gathering planned well in advance, and I'm not going to fuss over it.

But the inconveniences of booking the suite are starting to stack and it's not leaving a good taste in my mouth.

At least with my prior landlord, they tried to warn me if they were going to be a bit loud. I could plan around it.

That's all I'm asking for. A bit of communication.

I recognize that this may be an oddity I'll encounter now and again on my travels. So long as I am working long hours, though, it's going to be an annoyance if I can't get the rest I need on weekends.

Not much I can do, but at least I'm not at this Airbnb for long.

Today's Relevant Links

None!

Support the Development of This Project

I look forward to connecting with you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58034.65
ETH 2448.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38