Travels and Legends Presents: Burano, Italy, and the Legend of Lace, Love and Sirens

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Burano, Italy is sure to make you happy! The colorful town of 2800 is an often visited retreat from nearby Venice. Its small shops and quaint restaurants make it a relaxing getaway,

b1.jpg

Ancient legend tells that lace was gifted to a Burano man by a siren.

One month before his wedding, a handsome young fisherman was tossing his nets in a lagoon in the east sea. A beautiful siren sang to him, tempting and arousing him, trying to enchant him into her clutches.

If you know anything about sirens, they are merciless in their tantalizing and beguiling ways. They stop at nothing to entice young men for their pleasure. But this man was so deeply in love with his fiancée that he blocked and ceased the sirens seductive bait.

b7.jpg

The Queen of the sirens was so impressed with the young mans loyalty to his betrothed that she thumped her tail against the side of the boat, creating sea foam which swirled into a beautiful piece of lace. The Queen had gifted him with the very first lace, which became the classic wedding veil.

bu5.jpg

The young man came home the morning of his wedding and presented the lace to his young bride. She was the envy of all the young maidens of the land, who of course began to replicate the lace by developing needle and thread techniques. Lace was the must have fashion for wedding dresses since.

b3.jpeg

Burano boasts a Lace School and Lace Museum.

bu2.jpg

Today, the famous Burano lace is made in five steps by five ladies- each a master of her step in the design process.

b5.jpg

b6.jpg

The Lace Museum is located in Piazza Galuppi, Burano, Italy, at the palace that was seat of the Burano Lace School.

You might like Veneto Italys legend of the tooth fairy and tooth mouse

Follow for more Travels and Legends <3

I appreciate your support :)

Sort:  

Amazing , keep up the good work !

What a beautiful town!!!

Those pesky sirens...

Hi, i'm new here. You can check my posts about food, travel and random stuff. Follow me and i'll follow you back, enjoy!! :)

I will definitely check out your page. Welcome to the community!

I'm so ignorant I did't even know this place existed . It's freaking amazing .
Le photo sono bellissime

Gratzie Signore'

I like the cool little non touristy places. This is only 4 miles from Venice! Sometimes just down the road is where you will find much more character :)

Definitely agree. I'm not a fan of Venice , didn't like it there a bit, but I'm sure I will love Burano . Will write it down for my next visit to Italy.

Sweet! Yes, It's definitely worth a stroll through town :)

Italy indeed is a romantic place.
I like the colorful houses and that legendary canal.

I am going to have to agree with you, Italy is the most romantic place in my humble opinion

Amazing photography....Brunao town is full of colour..My eyes are stunned beacuse i saw this city in our bollywood films...I wanna go there...Keep sharing ..I just follwed you..and i am new in this platform...I also a travel bloger...Here my post..https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bluec/hello-steemitians-my-name-is-atin-and-i-m-excited-to-join-the-community-with-my-travel-kit

I think you liked it...

It's wonderful meeting you Atin :)

Yes, I absolutely adore Burano. Do it! Go there, you will enjoy!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I love the photos and the legend. Fascinating!

There are so many almost lost legends that are wonderful and beautiful, but noone retells them anymore. I want to bring back the magic :)

You're doing a great job so far!

Thank you so much <3 That is good to hear :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44