You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOW TO TRAVEL AROUND THE WORLD WITHOUT PAYING FOR ACCOMMODATION

in #travel6 years ago

I have heard of this before and I think it sounds interesting. You would have to be a trusting host to do this. Do you remember that Growing Pains episode where Kirk brought home the homeless kid (Leonard DiCaprio) and he stole all of their Christmas presents? :) And you'd have to be pretty trusting to stay there as well. Sounds like an interesting idea.

Sort:  

I enjoyed being both: host and surfer. I couchsurfed in US, Ecuador and Holland. Each time I met some incredible people that treated me as I was part of their family.
As a host, I had received only three people, because I was travelling. I am planning to list again my couch as available. The surfers that stayed with me were young, in their early 20s.

I figured it was probably something for younger people. It does sound like something I would have done a few years ago... ;) Before kids. When I did fun stuff like hitch hike in Spain and sky dive. ;) It does sound like you would be treated like their family. It's amazing how fast we can get to know and accept other people if we want to!

It's a fun concept that can save one some money. Isn't funny how sometimes we can accept a stranger much faster than someone who we would see at work ? lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42