Geting vaccinated for my world trip

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

1 day before starting to travel through South America, South East Asia and Southern Africa... That requires a lot of vaccines...

Para español, da click aquí https://steemit.com/spanish/@anomadsoul/vacunas-para-mi-viaje-por-el-mundo


Here I am, scared as pfff

In reality the only vaccine that is mandatory to travel around the world is the Yellow Fever one and you need a special certificate from the World Health Organization (WHO) that aknowledges that you are vaccinated against it to enter some countries, especially in central and south America. But that doesn´t mean that is the only vaccines you should take to have a not so risky trip.

The possibility of getting sick or catching a virus while traveling is very high and as a traveler we should be as prepared as we can to avoid unnecesary risks and also have a contingency plan for every problem you might encounter, including getting sick. It doesn´t mean that you have to have a response to every posible scenario but at least you have to know the consecuences and symptons of every disease you might catch in every country.

In general, and as Im going to travel for at least one year I got vaccinated against these:

  • Yellow Fever
  • Typhoid Fever
  • Hepatitis A & B
  • Tetanus
  • Rabies
  • Dengue

My doctor didn´t advised me to get the Malaria pre-treatment but gave me the pills in case I get contagied, they are 12 pills and are extremely expensive but hey, rather that than having Malaria in Peru.

My advice is, if you are traveling to various countries and are going on a few months trip, specially if you plan staying in hostels and meeting a lot of people, you should consult a profesional and get vaccinated, even if you are not planning on being on risky situations or going camping, it is better to prevent than to be sorry. Make sure the vaccines are issued by an organization linked with the WHO.

And as a last recommendation, make SURE that you had breakfast and have your defenses high; Some of these vaccines have contraindications and you might get dizzy, headache and nausea as a side effect, especially if you get them all at the same time. I didn´t had breakfast and went to get my blood tested earlier and now I feel kind of, just kind of dying hehe.

Read you aroung my friends!

Sort:  

And now, according to Hollywood celebrities, you have autism.

The trick is to already have autism before the vaccines ;) hehe

Did you get them all done at once? That many shots I would have been doing over a few months before leaving XD

Good idea being prepped. Do not want to have some of those anywhere never mind in places where decent heath care might be few and far between.

All at once! It was a last minute decision so I couldn´t get them separately but I get your point hehe.
I know! Imagine catching yellow fever in a virgin beach in Honduras! :O

Hey there. Sorry I haven't been by more often. I've had a crazy couple weeks including my dad being taken to the hospital. He's doing much better thankfully.
Looks like you're getting ready for your trip! Make sure to put the link of the first post of your journey in one of my comment sections so I don't miss it :)

My dear friend dont worry! I know life is complicated and sometimes there´s not enough time to keep steeming. Im really sorry to hear that but I´m happy he is now better... If you need to talk you can always find me on steemchat :)
Yes!! I am already in Caye Caulker! Ill make sure to post a link in one of your posts!

I am afraid of needles :O

Me too! Imagine getting five shots in around ten minutes! :S
But hey, better be prepared otherwise I would have to get moore shots to fight some weird desease!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66546.31
ETH 3589.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93