Legend of Fouha Rock

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

20180327_161230.jpg

On the southwestern coast of Guam, there lies an amazing 150 ft rock formation at the north point of Fouha Bay. According to local legend of the CHamoru people, it was from this rock that the first humans emerged.

Even though the majority of the island is Catholic due to previous Spanish rule, the legend of the rock centered at Fouha Point or Creation Point, still resonates strong through oral tradition passed down generation to generation. During my hike with the Guam Boonie Stompers, Inc., I had the pleasure of visiting this official National Natural Landmark and I couldn't help but feel drawn towards it, putting it at the focus of my photographs as long as it was still in sight.

( You can check out my blog for that hike here -- https://www.minds.com/blog/view/814785837402013696 )

TAG_27032018_1616653991634.jpg

Of course I had to research the history of this captivating rock as soon as I got home. According to the legend, the creators of the universe are the goddess, Fu'una, and her brother, Puntan. At the request of her brother, Fu'una used her power to divide his body into the universe as we know it. His eyes became the sun and moon, his eyebrows became rainbows, and his back and chest became the Earth and sky. After Fu'una fit the world with everything it needed to prosper, she threw herself into the Earth, transforming into Fouha Rock, also known as Lasso' Fu'a. It was then the first humans surfaced from the rock, populating the Earth.

TAG_27032018_1615282194210.jpg

Many people still keep the traditions and values of this legend alive today. Through pilgrimage, song, dance, and offerings, Fouha Rock remains an important part of CHamoru culture. Much of the culture and practices of the ancient people were dissolved by the Spanish a few hundred years ago during the colonization. Sacred places and rituals were destroyed by the missionaries as they deemed them "pagan" and put Catholicism in place. Standing tall and strong, Fouha Rock survived it all. Those who keep the tradition of pilgrimage alive often bring offerings to the sacred site. I got to see an example of these offerings while passing by during our hike. While I didn't know what the purpose was at the time, I could tell there was a significance in the way the fruits, shells, rocks, and rice were thoughtfully arranged. The energy surrounding this rock was incredible... little did I know it was emanating THE LEGEND of legends!

TAG_27032018_16161826799044.jpg

I hope you've enjoyed this taste of CHamoru cultures as much as I have enjoyed learning about them! There is still much more of Guam for me to explore! Stay tuned.
😊❤🇬🇺

Sort:  

Hi @annaqh, great travel post! I've got a few trips coming up that I'm really looking forward to. Always remember memories are priceless!! Cheers

Hey @exxodus, thanks! Have fun and be safe in your travels... if you ever get the chance to visit Guam, I highly recommend it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51