Travel on a Budget: Cali Addition

in #travel6 years ago

Hey ya'lllll! For today's blog addition, I'm going to be telling you about my trip to California and how I afforded it as a fresh out of high school teen.
The trip was some what sporadic. My cousin texted me one day in March and says "Aria, I wanna go somewhere. Want to go California?" and as a travel lover, I automatically said YES! There wasn't much of a backbone to our trip until we decided the day we would leave which would become July 19th.
Now here the part about how I saved money:

Step one: Look for plane tickets early. While looking, my cousin and I looked on the app Hopper which showed us when tickets are cheapest so we knew the right time to book.

Step two: Find cheap/free places to stay. My cousin's college friend lived in San Diego so we spent three nights with her which saved a ton and the other two nights we spent at an Air BNB in La Jolla. It wasn't big by any means but we spent most of those two days surfing so we didn't need a lot of space.

Step three: Limit the nights out... aka don't go out to dinner every night. This is one thing that we were definitely bad at and in Cali, foods expensive so try to hit a local grocery store and cook yummy meals from home if possible!

Step four: Find free, fun activities to do that are close by. One of my favorite local thing I did while in San Diego was go to beach yoga which was yoga on a grassy area looking over Mission beach and the ocean. It was beautiful, relaxing, and super good people watching since there was 200-300 of us all there.

Hope my tips helped and you'll visit my blog again!

xoxo
AMP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66670.04
ETH 3497.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71