Our trip to thousand-year-old ruins of Angkor

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Visiting Angkor temples was the most astounding and overwhelming experience I had during my travels. History, architecture, carvings, stories and views – it's all amazing. I was there in September, together with my man, of course. Look at us, hiding from rain in one of the temples.

But Angkor is not just a temple site, it’s an entire lost city, wrapped in jungle. It was the capital city of the Khmer Empire and the largest pre-industrial city in the world, with an elaborate infrastructure system connecting an urban sprawl of at least 1,000 square kilometres to the well-known temples at its core. Newly identified agricultural systems in the Angkor area may have supported up to one million people.

Angkor has experienced consistent conservation efforts since the 1990s (and inconsistent conservation since 1860 – the year when it was discovered by the French). A number of countries such as France, Japan and China are currently involved in various Angkor Wat conservation projects. and they’ve literally collected all the rubble, taken apart remains of the temples, and rebuilt them like giant puzzles. 

The temples of the Angkor area number over one thousand, ranging in scale from nondescript piles of brick rubble scattered through rice fields to the Angkor Wat, said to be the world's largest single religious monument. 

The number of visitors multiplies each year, but there are still ways to enjoy the temples as they must have appeared when first discovered, and escape the crowds. There are many ways to do that - just by arriving at a different time of day, or approaching from a different direction. 

We had a lot of fun there, posing in front of our camera on a tripod when it wasn't raining. I think September is the lowest season and the best time to visit if you're ok with getting a bit wet (or getting really wet if you forget to bring raincoats). 

I was pretending to be Lara Croft in Tomb Raider movie – but with a steadicam instead of weapon.

We didn't hire a guide – walking around by ourselves and trying to imagine what this place looked like before seemed more interesting. I have read quite a lot of information about it though. 

Just about every surface is decorated with carved bas-relief scenes of wars, everyday life, and Hindu legends. It has more than 3000 beguiling apsaras (heavenly nymphs) carved into its walls. Each of them is unique.

The sandstone blocks from which Angkor Wat was built were quarried from the holy mountain of Phnom Kulen, more than 50km away, and floated down the Siem Reap River on rafts. The logistics of such an operation are mind blowing, consuming the labour of thousands. According to inscriptions, the construction of Angkor Wat involved 300,000 workers and 6000 elephants. 

The surviving stone structures seen today are only a part of what used to exist at Angkor. There was also an enormous, thriving city of wooden houses, markets, shops, palaces, and public buildings. Unfortunately, the city has long since disappeared through the ravages of time and war. 

The power and vitality of the kingdom gradually waned until finally, after the armies of Ayutthaya captured and sacked Angkor in 1431, the city was partially abandoned.   

Now it is one of the most important archaeological sites in South-East Asia and one of the world's most awe-inspiring and breathtaking architectural accomplishments of all time. 

Ok, how much does it cost? 

Starting from 2017 the price to visit Angkor is $37 for 1 Day, $62 for 3 Days, and $72 for 7 Days. When we visited to Angkor it was just $40 for 3 Days. I wonder if they made the prices higher because there's too many tourists now... Also now you have to make sure that your shoulders and knees are covered to get the pass! Don't dress like me on those photos!

Personally I think 3 days is the best amount of days to spend  in Angkor. There will be enough time to explore the main temples, some of the minor sites, and have some time to explore a few temple sites in depth.  

As for other prices, it costs about $15 to hire a tuk-tuk (two-wheeled carriage pulled behind a moto ) for a day to visit the temples. And we rented a cheap room for $10 per day which we shared with some ants. But we didn't spend a lot of time in the room – we were exploring Angkor!  

All pictures are taken by me and my Canon 550d
Stay tuned for more!   

follow

Sort:  

Beautiful, nice post production. I had seen a documentary on History Channel about it. I wish to go some day. It's from the Khmer Empire and is surrounded by water if I am not wrong.

Thank you, @themystic! Angkor Wat is surrounded by water, yes - it's a man made moat and it even represent the world's oceans if I'm not mistaken. You should definitely visit if you can 😉

I have few places to visit, and now have added this to it.
What do you mean by "it even represent the world's oceans"?
Also is it a proper tourist place or a spooky aloof one? Is it safe enough?

Cheers!!!

Hi @themystic! I just read about mugging in Siem Reap - the city where everyone stays to visit Angkor:
"Our friend S. was mugged by a gang of children in Siem Reap. He didn’t even have any valuables showing — one of the children reached into his pocket and stole his phone.
After running after the kid and smacking him, S. got his phone back. The children retaliated by throwing glass bottles at him, cutting his feet."
so I thought maybe you should know about this kind of danger!

Uh, really!!! I am sorry to hear that. I hope it's just a cut and nothing serious. This is bad. That's the reason any time I visit with my family to a new place I keep a pepper spray handy.
I know in underdeveloped/developing nations "apple" products are very attractive and seems to be expensive commodities. You have to be careful all the time. Though if it's a gun it's better to give away anything you carry at that moment.
Though I am glad you guys had a good time. Be safe, stay alert...
Hope your friend recovers soon. God bless...

we never experienced anything like that, but we don't have any iphones either :P
in most cases we just hold on to our bags and try to not visit dark places...
it's interesting that whilst in Bali we met two russian couples and both of them got their iphones snatched away while they were on a motorbike (you know how guys drive and girls watch a map in their phone). after that I started to hold my phone really tight...

Yeah, we need to be careful anyways though you have an iPhone or not ... lol...
Yes, HOLD onto your phone but we need to hold ourselves first and then the equipment.
Angkor is a location I have already shortlisted. May be in coming years I would plan an international visit and would have Ankor as part of it. Though on a good note, nice pics and information. So keep enlightening others on Steemit. Cheers!!!

Thank you! Good luck on your journey! :)

I meant that it's not just a simple moat, it has a meaning 😁
"With walls nearly half a mile long on each side, Angkor Wat grandly portrays the Hindu cosmology, with the central towers representing Mount Meru, home of the gods; the outer walls, the mountains enclosing the world; and the moat, the oceans beyond"

about the safety - well, I think it's about as safe as any popular tourist place in South East Asia - you just have to not leave your belongings unattented probably. I can't think of any dangers that a tourist should be aware of there :)

Great. Thanks for the information and suggestions. Appreciate it.
Looking forward to another exciting post. Following you.
Cheers!!!

Such a great Job on the photo's. It's easy to tell that some of those images were taken under harsh lighting condition and you did a great job dealing with it. They tell the story well of a very unique place and a couple of them add fun too.

I used to own the 550D. Such a fun little camera. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much, @randystiefer! Yeah, I tried to deal with that harsh light with Shadows/Highlights tool in Photoshop 😅 Though I prefer to not take photos in harsh light in general 😅

I like to take Canon 550d is so easy to take everywhere, right? 😁 Sometimes I like to take it for a walk with the tiny 50mm 1.8 lens to just shoot whatever catches my eye

I had the 50mm 1.8 as well. There's no greater bang for the buck lens than the nifty fifty.

Hi Anna, My husband and I visited Angkor in 2008. One of the most amazing places I have ever been. Very close second to Machu Picchu in Peru. Following

Thank you, Linda! I'd love to visit Machu Pichhu someday too, followed back ;)

Fantastic! What an amazing place, and with such a fascinating history! Thanks for posting this, and with such beautiful pictures :D

How did you get those three pictures to display in a row side by side? I've tried to do that with the steemit markup but i can't get it to work.

Thank you, @fiftysixnorth! :D
I just combined those three pictures into 1 jpeg file with white borders ;P

ah ok .. that makes sense. :) thanks

Fascinating! Photos are wonderful. I can imagine how amazing it was exploring this place!
Upvoted! :)

Thank you, @nikolina! In fact I like to explore Angkor so much that I want to go there again :P

Fantastic shots @anna-redhead , I would also visit Angkor if given the chance. Following you now 😁

Thank you, @ninjacee! I love your photos too, followed back ;)

Super nice, love the work you put it! keep travelling, will keep an eye out for your blogs.
i travelled for four years and blog about it now.
Hope you can travel as much as you can

Thank you so much, @heyitshaas! Always great to see a fellow traveller - I traveled for about 3 years, more or less 😎 followed you ;)

I went to Siem Reap once ... then had to go again. There's plenty of temples that very few tourists go to if you want a more quiet experience. I would really recommend hiring your own driver on a day rate - it works out cheaper and you always know you have a person waiting for you. Much less stressful than renegotiating destinations and prices at every stop. A good driver can also help with local experience too. I had a mixed bag using tour guides. Some very great - most knew less than I did about the temples - at least that they could communicate in English.
I so want to go back again.

I feel you, @eturnerx! :) I want to visit Angkor again too :D
Hiring a driver for a whole day is really the best option if you wish to visit several temples :)

You've outdone yourself.

Wonderful photos and stories of your time there. I am in Thailand now and may go for one of my Visa trips. I'm not in the best of health and it looks very exhausting to me. But you definitely have the best post of the many I have looked at.

My question is where all the slaves and stone carvers came from and where they went afterwards. I can't imagine your average slave to have this type of talent. Do they say anything about this in what you studied?

Thank you so much, @fitinfun! :)

That's a very interesting question! Here's what I found about it:

The building of Angkor Wat is likely to have necessitated some 300,000 workers, which included architects, construction workers, masons, sculptors and the servants to feed these workers.
The Khmer rulers made use of a vast force of slave labour, there were probably thousands of slaves. Each new temple was made possible by the 750,000 people estimated to have lived at Angkor during the 12th and 13th centuries. Angkor Wat took approximately 34 years to build, resulting in many slaves dying in the process from being overworked.
Slaves were either captured during war, or were indigenous Mon-Khmer Tribespeople, who had been taken from the eastern highlands of the Khmer Empire. And there were also debt slaves, whom were people enslaved until they could pay off their dept.
Most families had 100 or more of them [slaves], a few had 10 or 20; and only the poorest peasants didn't own at least a single slave.

I suppose that slaves were used for tasks that didn't require skill, like hauling the stone blocks and feeding those skilled workers... what do you think?

I don't know - I have similar questions about other ancient sites too. How many slaves does it take to carve a masterpiece? If it wasn't the slaves - who were the master carvers and what happened to them after? Where did they live? How were they housed and fed?

If I do go there, I will be looking for any sign of carving skill in the current day - the descendants of the master builders who did this. I'm not sure if this one has a lot of small bricks or a lot of huge megaliths. I was up in Udon Thani and saw bricks being made currently. No unskilled person could do it in my opinion.

To me - this whole topic is a mystery!

Please let me know if you find out more about it! 😊

lol - I 'm asking people who go to these sites like you, but so far no answers from anyone - I will keep asking for sure. I looked back on this and you guys have really great photos and text. I think you could get sponsorships for sure with your interesting lives and travels.

thank you so much! Any ideas about how we can get sponsorships? :D

Well - here are some

  • search "how I travel the world with sponsorship"
  • search the same in pinterest and fb
  • join digital nomads in fb groups - there are a bunch of them
  • join other travel type fb groups

You can get a free "travel pitch kit" here:
http://www.cision.com/us/resources/white-papers/2017-travel-pk/

And this girl does it
http://ginabearsblog.com/2017/04/travel-blog-media-kit-sponsor-pitching/

So you make a pdf with you and your guy and show some great photos and describe what you can pitch - hotel, clothes, travel accessories etc.

Then you send that out to brands who might want to:

  • have you in their hotel
  • have you at their attraction/restaurant
  • have you show their great product in use

I have thought about it for all my visa trips, but it's really not for me - you two look like the type and I mean that in a good way. I'm like the dirty exhausted hippie and you guys are like the breezy fashion plates. The photos you are getting on a tripod (?) are superior. I'm talking about the shots from a bit far off with the two of you in them.

It's just a matter of going through the steps, sending out pitches and being professional and flexible. I think you have it all :)

Def try to connect with others who do it already or at least review blogs and posts to see how other people are succeeding.

Wow, thank you so much! :D That's awesome advice! Somehow I never heard about how exactly people find sponsorships and these tips are so very useful! :D

Nice pictures as always :) do you also do videos? The camera tripod is a glider. Followed 🐳! We do travel vlogs on YouTube and would like to make global connections on Steemit 🌎! Follow us back so we can be friends 🤗

Thank you! :) We make videos sometimes but not that often, followed back :)

Ah nice :) thank youuu. Looking forward for more posts from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17