You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Road trip - Durban to Johannesburg, South Africa

in #travel6 years ago

Thanks for sharing the lovely scenery. And your son's house looks interesting. I'm wondering about the material used in making the roof. It looks very unusual!

Sort:  

Hi @anise, nice seeing you again :)
My son's cottage has a grass thatch roof, quite popular in Gauteng, possibly an abundance of material. Most game reserve lodges have thatch roofs as well. Very popular all over South Africa is a thatch gazebo for entertaining outdoors. Have a look at this link courtesy of homify for nice examples and also what it looks like inside. Excuse the adverts that pop up when you go there.

I see I am not the only one curious about that roof! Nothing that exotic exists here in Canada..although I have seen thatched gazebo in southern US.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43