Visiting Petra - crossing the border

in #travel8 years ago

Jordan's most visited attraction is "Petra" as you may know, it is considered a Wonder of the World.

I was staying in Elliat (Israel) and crossing the border was about two hours away from there. So I did it, as a regular local of course with dark hair is always easier to travel. Don't you agree?

Petra was established as early as 312 BC. Who lived here, right? The Nabateans who were nomadic Arabs. I learned that, they were well known for their ability of constructing efficient water collecting methods and for their talent in carving solid rocks.

It was until 1820, that Swiss explorer Johann Ludwig Burckhardt discovered it again!

As I walked through there, the colour of the desert is magnificent! orange, red, pink...so beautiful to capture in my iPhone camera.

You can easily rent a camel for $15 all day - A bit uncomfortable, but it's worth the ride you can climb with him all the way to the top of the mountain which it's in fact identified by some as the biblical "Mount Hor"

I made it!!! Remember Indiana Jones, well that's right! This is the place.

Kind of a cave. I was there in winter, so not as many tourists which I think was great to explore and walk. People were very kind and humble.

This is "the elephant rock" which I thought was incredible! Check those colours...There are a beautiful mixed.

I think the cheapest way to get there is how I did it, crossing the border from Israel to Jordan. Very safe and people do speak a bit of English. Don't hesitate just do it. Some folks that I met there were lovely older couples who finally have now time for travel. But, I ask to myself why wait? We don't have to stay in the fancy hotels in Jordan - We can adventure and live the way we all should.

Angelica

Sort:  

I visited Jordan once but did not venture outside the Capital, my Hotel room on the 9th floor did not get any water after 2 minutes running. I had to use towels to wipe the soap off. Managed to get a shower on the second floor later, when a nice Lebanese guest saw me arguing with the front desk guy, and suggested I use his room.

Thanks for sharing you story Joseph! There are plenty of hotels in town, I actually went back to Israel after a full day in Petra.

This last photo reminds me of a human skull :) Great job!

human skull? hahah true true - I saw it as an elephant or fish =)

Fantastic post. I love your photos - very beautiful.

Thank you for the nice comment! It makes me happy & boost my confidence as a newby in steemit =) Have a great day!

You're welcome:)

Stunning. I've always wanted to visit! Thanks for sharing your photography :)

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.81 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you so much for sharing :)

Glad you enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41