Love in all forms.

in #travel7 years ago

I don't know how to say anything after I met this girl, except to try to say it is freaking hot that day.

Fiery heat has got into my veins, and it's burning a hole up in my heart. I can't ever now lay my head down at night and not think of her and all the kids I have met.

I can still hear her small, gentle voice that seared me alive.

I'm slapped awake now.

Because after I saw this girl, this little girl with no shoes and no clothes, joyfully playing with stones under the scorching heat of the sun – my heart ached with this raw conviction.

I'm hungry. Hungry to love more. Hungry for the uncomfortable.

I'm hungry to sacrifice my Starbucks coffee, my Spotify subscription, my lunches out for something MORE.

I'm so hungry for hard and holy things. For some real dirt under my fingernails, some real food for my starved soul – some real Jesus in my hands and in my feet.

We all get to decide to what we will tie our lives. If I tie everything only to the thin thread of my own life – it will be a mess.

We dont have to wait to have more, we dont have to wait to have much, we dont have to wait at all.

WE ALL GET TO GIVE.

It's not just the rich who get to give – it's all those who give who get to be rich. It's not having much that makes you rich – it's the giving that makes you rich.

And it answers my life long question: Why we are where we are — FOR SUCH A TIME AS NOW.

It makes it hard to tell this story – I want another story.

A story where us, and the next generation get to live the MORE LIFE. A life more than social media, more than iPhones, iPads, Facebook status, Instagram, and self vanity. The MORE LIFE of loving the least, the lonely, the lost and experiencing the joy of God.

Love is always our only hope. 💕

#worldphotographyday14088533_1154675737931015_5518395935729396974_n.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @angeldd07! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38