The Discovery Of Rodrigues Island

in #travel7 years ago

1400602_10200914175277898_1084272258_o-2.jpg

Rodrigues island is located about 500km northeast of Mauritius and basically functions as an independent country to Mauritius. It is without doubt one of the the most beautiful places that exist on earth and yet remains to be discovered. The island is a fun place to be despite it's small magnitude. Besides, the night sky here is so clear that you can almost see every star in the galaxy i swear.

Wonderful Christian St Gabriel Cathedral in the island of Rodrigues.

20150919_063714.jpg

Pointe Cotton Beach

20150922_110101.jpg

20150922_111047.jpg

20150922_111241.jpg

20150922_111349.jpg

20150920_154755.jpg

Afterwards, I got on my motorbike and started cruising around the gorgeous green and hilly island. My two main objectives were to get to the famous beach, Trou d’Argent, which required a 30 minute drive on the bike each way plus one hour hiking through the lava rocks each way so that was 3 hours plus time spent at the beach. The only way the beach is accessible is by foot or by boat.

First, I somehow found the way to where I was supposed to park to start the walk to the beach from the crappy map from the tourism office. I then made two rookie mistakes that were pretty dumb. First, I didn’t bring water with me and by 8am it’s already 100 degrees and humid as hell. Second, I left the motorbike parked in the sun and the seat is black pleather. So when I got back it burned the hell out of my ass even through the bathing suit.

20150925_113300.jpg

20150925_113429.jpg

20150925_113556.jpg

20150925_114714.jpg

Anyway after a gorgeous hike through a series of beaches, none of which were marked, I made it to Trou d’Argent which as you can see (above) didn’t disappoint. Luckily for me, as I arrived sweating profusely and thirsty as can be-there was a family from La Reunion there and they offered me water. Honestly, they may have saved a disaster because it was really hot and I don’t know if I would’ve made it back without passing out.

20150922_130142.jpg

So that was basically my way too short a time in Rodrigues but i did manage to see most of the island and everything that i did want to see for sure. I also made it to the Saturday market on the harbor in Port Mathurin, where although i didn't buy anything, they have some nice things and clothes. Unfortunately no good t-Shirts! But the island was just very chill and the type of place it's nice to be for a day or two.

Thank you so much for reading! I post travel pics and some amateur art work. If you like my work, Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow! Steem on! @and1an0

Sort:  

In four years Mauritius and I never went to Rodrigues and now I will have no time more before I leave maybe in my next life. Nice post bro :)

You miss a lot in your life bro.

I now my wife was there a few times and she told me it is very nice .

Beautiful Island! And great pictures :D I will def. consider it the next time I go on vacation with my love

Thank you!

wow thank you sooooooooo much for writing this post. I have heard of Mauritus but never Rodrigues island, and I try and search this epic places here on planet earth. so thank you for exposing me to it, I appreciate you so much.

Thanks for taking the time to read the post.Yes, indeed it's an epic place that needs to be visited. If you need any information about how to get there feel free to contact me.

You're welcome buddy I really appreciate your work. And sounds good I will definitely be going there sometime :)

Amazing place but I have heard is kinda expensive for traveling. I feel you, haha I think most of the people who like the adventure, have done the same mistake about water...

Yes, lol. But it's such a beautiful island that remains to be discovered, it's sad that a lot of people do not know about it.

This place looks amazing. Those beaches! And the fact that they are all empty, you can't beat that! Such a gorgeous place. BTW...

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions about the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

Thank you. Yes i accepte to share my post.

Great! Thanks for getting back to me so quickly.

wow great place

Thank you, you should consider Rodrigues Island on your travel check list

very nice scenery. i think if i have much money after i pay out from steemit . i will go there

Good idea @sogata, you will love it. I warn you, its damn hot there

So freeekin gorgeous omg! I wanna go :D

Thank you. You will love it @awarenessraiser

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65