Magical Places - the Library of Congress

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

washington-d-1624410_640.jpg

I recently went to Washington D. C. and was able to see a few places. Of those places, it was the Library of Congress that was the highlight of my trip. I had been there for only a moment when I was seventeen years old. This time I was able to see much more of the place.

Now as a writer this is holy ground the feeling that came over me reminded me of how it felt when I have come across something truly sacred. The major thing that I thought that we as writers should take away is the writing in the great hall. There are quotes all around it, ones that hit home and really inspired me. Reminding me of how much I love writing.

library-74038_640.jpg

I feel that I should share as many of those quotes with you if you have not heard them. I hope that it helps you with your writing and may your writing be inspired.

These are the ones that I remember:

Knowledge is power
Dreams books are each world books we know are a substantial world both pure and good
Knowledge comes but wisdom lingers
Wisdom is the principle thing there fore get wisdom an with all thy getting get understanding
Ignorance is the curse of God knowledge the wing where with we fly to Heaven
How charming is divine philosophy
It is the mind that makes the man and our vigor is in our immortal soul
They are never alone that are accompanied with noble thoughts
Man is one world and hath another to attend him
Tongues in trees books in the running brooks sermons in stones and good in everything
There is one only good namely knowledge and one only evil namely ignorance
Reading maketh a full man conference a ready man and writing an exact man
Books must follow sciences and not sciences books
The chief glory of every people arises from its authors
Science is organized knowledge
Too low they build who build beneath the stars
Nature is the art of God
There is no work of genius which has not been the delight of mankind
Beauty is truth Truth is beauty
Art is long and time is fleeting
There is but one temple in the universe and that is the body of man
Words are also actions and actions are a kind of words
The history of the world is the biography of great men
Behold the bright countenance of truth in the quiet and still air of delightful studies
No true painter ever set on canvas all the glorious vision he conceived
The first creature of God was the light of sense the last was the light of reason

(All photos are from: https://pixabay.com)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58251.65
ETH 2369.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37