Visiting the Big Buddha in Hong Kong

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

It took us around 15 hours or so flying from Canada to Hong Kong. We stayed there overnight near the airport as we were flying into Thailand in the morning. When we arrived we were super exhausted but forced ourselves to get up and explore!

We found that the Ngong Ping 360 cable car was super close to where we were staying and we decided to go. It was about a 30 minute ride or so up the mountains to the big Buddha statue. People passing us in other cable cars kept waving at us as we went by which was a cute touch, and the views were amazing the entire time.

                 

                 

                 

Finally arrived at the top! There was a really nice walking area with little shops around there and amazing architecture. Also, found cutest heart cakes at Starbucks, who doesn't love that!

                 

                 

                 

                 

                 

Finally arrived at the big Buddha! It was so beautiful and so worth the trip up to the top to see.

                                   

We decided to take the bus on the way down. The ride was super long and the roads twist and turn the entire time. If you get dizzy easily it's probably best not to take the bus. Still part of the whole experience though. 

I wish we could of spent more time in Hong Kong as what I saw of it was super beautiful! Seeing the big Buddha was for sure an amazing highlight I will never forget. 

Sort:  

I love that big Buddha @amethystrosse. I created a piece of art based on my visit there. The journey to get there is just magical. One of my favourite places so far!

Just checked out your page and your art is so inspiring!

"Nothing is forever, except Starbucks"

  • Buddha, 502 B.C.

This made me laugh so hard

I've noticed that "super" is your favorite word to describe things, but it sure is Super to see this Buddha statue. You went to Thailand too, did you get to visit the one there?

haha yeah I need to think of a better word to use.. didn't realize until you mention it now how often I do use it :P.. I didn't see the Buddha statue in Thailand, I was in Phuket the whole trip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28