How I Packed For a Month in Russia in a Carry-On

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Let's face it.

Packing for a long trip is not easy. Not only is it not easy, it can be down-right dreadful.

So in 2015, when my dad, @energyaddict22, gifted me a ticket to visit him and my stepmom, @sreybgm, in St. Petersburg, Russia for the entire month of June... I put off packing.

Instead, I did just about everything but pack. I bought new luggage, I bought new clothes, and I even picked out a camera with my granny to take pictures while I was there. However, 36 hours before the plane was scheduled for take-off, here I was, staring at my clothes blankly as if I had expected them to pack themselves.

So I got to work.

I decided that I was going to check one empty bag (actually two bags, one stuffed inside the other) so that I could bring back loads of souvenirs for my family members. Due to insane fees, this meant that I would need to figure out how to pack for the entire month in just my carry-on bag.

holiday-trip-packaging-8434.jpg
Photo from Pixabay

After many hours looking for Pinterest inspiration, I realized that I needed to choose key items to wear on my trip that would go well with everything. I chose 6 shirts, 3 pairs of pants, 2 pairs of shoes, 1 jacket, 5 pairs of socks and underwear, 2 bras, and 2 nice dresses/skirts for formal events.

To pack these items, I used the rolling method. This is where you lay out your pants, then place your shirt, bra, underwear, etc. on top, and then roll it all up to form a hotdog. Then you put your roll into the carry-on and do this until all your clothing is rolled.
download.jpg

Next, I gathered a few small items for my hosts that they couldn't get in Russia, such as Oreos. Once this was done, I moved on to toiletries.

Since you're allowed to take a personal item on the plane in addition to a carry-on, I utilized my purse in my packing efforts. For men, you could easily utilize a small backpack. Since I could easily access basic toiletries at the local grocery, I made a list of items I did want to bring to help get ready in the mornings.

  1. Hair ties
  2. Bobby pins
  3. Hairbrush
  4. Basic makeup: mascara, eyeliner, lipstick
  5. Small jewelry

Then, I packed those items in a plastic Ziploc bag and shoved them in the bottom of my purse.

stock-photo-purse-headphones-flowers-notebook-passport-christian-siriano-0fb8f059-fc82-4314-b321-60215bd7561a.jpg

Nobody packs for a trip like this... and who on earth stuffs fresh flowers in their purse?

Finally, all I had left was my wallet, passport, and documents. These I put in my purse, with a copy of my passport and itinerary in my carry-on and my empty checked bag.

That's it! As a champion procrastinator, I felt like packing for Russia was the ultimate competition. Which of course, I won. 😉

Aviary Photo_131659599604408169.png
Near Lake Valdai near Great Novgorod (borrowed scarf, because I didn't realize I needed to pack one for visits to the Russian Orthodox Cathedrals)

Sort:  

You got a 25.00% upvote and resteem from @ebargains courtesy of @energyaddict22. Thank you for using the @ebargains UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is over 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

fun post! welcome to the platform, hope you like it here and will do well.
Love to connect with travel-minded people.
I traveled for four years and post about it now, for now back in Amsterdam to think about my next move

Congratulations @americantraveler! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Nice one, Jordan! I found out that it's best to roll clothes like a week ago too.
It's obvious but I also want to add that if you carry your laptop or an expensive bottle with you, you have to put it inside your "hotdogs" as you called them :)
I would like to read what you're thinking about your trip to Russia!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60065.47
ETH 2420.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46