España 8-2-17

in #travel7 years ago

Hello there from España! I arrived this morning in Madrid. My host sister, Maria, picked me up from the airport at like 8 in the morning. We went back to her flat, and I napped while she packed for Marbella. Marbella is the beach town where her family has a condo. The grounds in which her condo is located had a pool, a bar, tennis courts, a soccer field, and access to the beach. They have quite the hook up. This will be my third time in Marbella. It is really beautiful and the people are amazing. I highly suggest this area if you are going to Spain and want to visit the beach. Anyways, when I woke up after my nap, Maria had lunch made. We ate pasta, and it was delicious. After lunch we gathered our things and drove 6 hours south to Marbella. I am very happy that the first thing we did was go to the beach when we arrived.

I am not the only American staying with her family. Maria has two beautiful sisters who both have girls here from Texas and Los Angeles.

Things in Spain happen much later than they do in the states. We eat dinner between 9 and 10. This is only the beginning of the night. Around 11, we get together with friends to pregame before we go to the night clubs. Most people my age are interested in the nightlife so here it is. Drinks at the bar can be expensive, so we get drunk before we go. Between 1 and 2, we call a taxi to drive us to the clubs. Women always get in free, and if you have a group then you can get an entire fifth of alcohol FREE, depending on the club! Obviously this would not fly in the states. The clubs don't even get busy until 4. We dance the night away and finally make our way home by 8 in the morning. The majority of the booze are slept off, and the rest sweated out at the beach that day. Then we do it all over again the next night. It's a great time! I cannot wait to go out this trip. I've been waiting all summer to go out dancing like the Spanish do. 🤗 Luckily I have my own Spaniard to show me how it's done.

Currently I am sitting at the bar near the condo, playing cards with her friends at 1:30. We recently finished dinner with her family on the beach around 12. I ate all kinds of seafood. Calamari. Sardines, which had eyes and skin on them. Tuna tartar. Other types of fish that I don't know the names of. It was delicious!

I wish my Spanish was better. I am here to practice, but it is so hard to keep up in conversation with Maria and her friends. I can get by talking one on one, but when multiple people are having different conversations it is difficult. I can understand well, as I should. I have 5 years of Spanish under my belt. Responding is the hard part. Not only do you have to be confident in your interpretation of what is being said, but also to respond correctly using your very basic vocabulary. I swear talking to me in Spanish is like talking to a little girl.

Well that is all I have for tonight. It is late, and I'm scared I am going to lose my progress on this blog before I post it. Btw this is my second time writing this post because I lost connection. Chao for now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64614.75
ETH 3444.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55