Memories...First impressions of Hamburg, Germany

in #travel6 years ago

Hello Steemians! It's always pleasant to reminisce about the most vivid and delightful impressions, especially the first ones. Today I opened a folder with old photos and feel so nostalgic! I remember the city I dreamed of visiting most of all, it was like an obsession to me. That was the time I started learning German, so I loved spending time looking through German cities on the Internet. Then I found one that I fell in love with at first sight. It was Hamburg, Germany. Since then, I could spend hours dreaming about strolling Hamburg's streets, crossing the bridges and discovering, absorbing, breathing each meter of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg. And my dream came true! That was my husband who proposed to make dream a reality. That was so exciting! So, we decided to depart the next day after my Birthday.

When we arrived, it was rainy, damp and cool. And to cap it all, we had no umbrella! Anyway, after finding a shop with cheap umbrellas, we decided to accept the city the way it was. After all, we knew that Hamburg is pretty rainy.

I've never seen such strict and informal city at the same time. If Hamburg was a girl, It would be the one with a nice apartment, rich parents but the one that still hides her gym shoes under the elegant gown. Hamburg is "pretty reckless":) It's open-minded and fun-loving. I had a feeling that I met my soulmate!

In winter the city might seem grey and still, but it still can entertain you and show you many interesting places. Hamburg has a huge and sightly city hall. Hamburg has lots of pubs and cafes. There are also many galleries and museums. But strolling its streets is priceless!

DSCF4068.JPG

DSCF4094.JPG

DSCF4239.JPG

DSCF4402.JPG

You won't stay hungry here either. There are a lot of points where you can buy tasty street food. Usually it's Bratwurst (grilled sausage), Currywurst (grilled sausage with ketchup and curry sauce), Pretzels (with salt or cheese and ham), Doner Kebabs and local beer (the most popular are Holsten and Astra)
DSCF4242.JPG

DSCF4244.JPG

I was impressed with a view overlooking the city. We had to climb up the top of the St. Michael's Church; even though it was windy, it was definitely worth it.

DSCF4279.JPG

DSCF4275.JPG

DSCF4277.JPG

Well, it seems I got too dreamy:) It's time to come back to reality... Anyway, next time I'll show you the cultural side of this special city. If you love art, there is a place that you are obliged to visit! What kind of place? I'll tell you next time!
See you later:)

Sort:  

Congratulations @alyonavs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got your First payout
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59048.85
ETH 2984.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71