Iceland northern lights

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I visited Iceland a few months ago and consider myself very lucky! We were going to book a northern lights tour but they promise nothing due to weather so we bailed on that. So, we did do a golden circle tour and I saw the original "Geysir" which all other geysers were named after along with other geysers and beautiful waterfalls. I'll have to put up pictures one day. Anyhow, we met a lady on that tour who had gone on a northern lights tour and saw nothing just the night before.

NOW for why I feel lucky, we saw the northern lights on a random night walk 3 blocks up from the hotel we were at!! Actually - not totally random I overheard the front desk saying tonight they might be visible AND THEY WERE!! I even saw them on the walk up it was mind blowing!!

9cc955cf2bdb162ef5e65bf5f6fc042f--astronomy-pictures-crater-lake.jpg

Also, on that tour we ended at the blue lagoon which was SO RAD. Beyond the bridge you stepped in gushy algae that was white and a slimy texture. I scooped it up with my foot to look at it lol an algae face mask made of (what I assume to be) a refined version of that was given at the drink bar and also sold in the gift shop. It was so beautiful and looked even more amazing in person!

Blue-lagoon-icleand.jpg

I hope to go back and visit the ice caves one day. One can only spend and see so much. I'll have to save the punk museum in Iceland for another post! 😝🤘

Sort:  

I always hoped to see them. Im in Michigan but never have yet.

I didn't even know that was possible! That would be pretty epic!!

I'd like to one day make it there. All the photos I've seen are amazing. Thanks for post.

You can get a cheap flight for like 700 roundtrip most people paid like 300 I just wasn't a good planner .. now if only it didn't cost about 1,000 to hang out and do anything cool/eat for a few days.

oh yea I just remembered one trick, a lady found a lay over for a week in Iceland on her way to.. like ... Switzerland? I don't recall too well

I wonder what the trip cost. That would be the best, Iceland for a week then on to Switzerland.

that lady was so cool see had to be in her late 60s maybe older and was going skiing in the Swiss alps. She was traveling Iceland solo but meeting up with friends at some point.. ALLEGEDLY lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45