Revised: Be Here Now

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My last blog entry, 'Be Here Now', was about my need to focus on my present place of being whilst traveling. I hold this mantra dear to me because it has gotten me through some rough spells of homesickness, but I think I was too harsh in my last post.

Picking up your life and relocating it to new destinations in the pursuit of travel is emotionally taxing. I stick to my mantra ‘Be Here Now’ because, to an extent, it detaches me from home. Emotions are tricky and easier handled when avoided. However, that mentality is not fair to those who are waiting to hear from me. I am fortunate enough to have people in my life that love me and I cannot afford to lose them because I love them just as much.

Alright, so let’s get to the origin of this epiphany that occurred over a fortnight.

I leave for Slovenia in a few days which means that goodbyes are looming. As I was planing out my time and allocating hours to individuals, other plans were being made unbeknownst to me.

My best friend Alex had arranged for us to go out for a fancy dinner. We shared a bottle of wine and ate and ate and ate. It was the perfect evening together and a great send-off. After, we mutually decided to go to our favourite bar/lounge. Little did I know, a surprise party awaited me. I was completely caught-off guard when 30 of my friends shouted ‘Surprise!’. Alex popped the bubbles and gave a toast to me and my future travels. It was in that moment that I realized the falsehoods in my last blog entry.

Moving or traveling to another place does not mean forgetting those you have left behind. It is about enjoying where you are and appreciating where you have been, including the people who have helped to get you there.

As I approach my departure date, I am constantly being reminded of how many remakrable humans bless my life – and they are making it tough to leave.

My grandparents gave me a goodbye card and inside was a quote I needed to hear: “Where we live is home; Home where our feet may leave, but not our hearts.”

To Alex, all my friends, and my family, thank you for enriching my life and supporting me on my travels. I leave my heart with you all!

21245927_10155750677704216_1339663750_o.jpg

Sort:  

Yes you are absolutrly right, we "the human race" need to learn to live in the "NOW", when traveling, but also in our daily lives.
Nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51