I Fell in Love in Capri

in #travel7 years ago

IMG_0023.JPG

Hands sticky from drinking Limoncello in the streets
Bells ringing throughout the city
There's an unmatched freedom here
A wildness
In the trees
The cobblestone for days
Steps for miles
Azur waters lapping against the shore that comes right upon the stone streets
Looking out on the ocean where there's water as far as the eye can see
Men left and right being playfully flirtatious
Old and young
In a way that holds so much reverence for women and their femininity
Extended dinners where wine flows like water
Our waiter, a boisterous old Italian man
Leathery skin
Smoking a cigar in the restaurant
There are so many less rules to break here
Because life is being lived fully
Boxes to mold shape and for yourself into are non-existent
It's like this place was made for me
And leaves me questioning why one would ever live elsewhere where there's so much oppression
Why tolerate the living to work mentality
When there are places where people are truly living
Embracing the possibility of life having ease
Happiness abounding
As opposed to the beaten down, repressed vision of the states
America the free, you say?
Then explain to me why it feels like there are so many limitations around what's acceptable in how a person expresses themselves
Explain to me why it feels like people are constantly hiding from themselves rather than living out their true selves
Explain to me why sexuality is so grossly objectified yet when a person is healthily embodied in their sexuality it's frowned upon
Explain to me why the majority of people I see in there are depressed beyond comprehension, sick from living lives on lock down
I want to be where people are happy and fulfilled without needing to have "all the things"
Where the fulfillment comes from a deep place within
Where the land speaks to my soul
Give me the places where pleasure and soulful beauty are a priority.
IMG_0034.JPG

Sort:  

I went to Capri once and now hpw.I miss

Looks so beautiful! Reminds me of The Lotus Eater.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69