You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Silk Road Diaries: Pamir Highway, Part I

in #travel7 years ago

You are so welcome @juanersatzman, I am so grateful to have that perspective myself. Also that the world is so small, and yet so huge and never-ending.

I agree about Afghanistan, and I suppose a similar degradation of culture must have happened / be happening in very many countries still; but one of my biggest lessons on this trip was that the people often make a place, and the people in these regions continue to be so deeply hospitable and warm, through all manner of hardships.

Sort:  

Good thought, and that's true in my experience as well. People are often very welcoming, even when they don't have many externally-apparent reasons to be.

That said, I have a colleague who spent months in Kabul in the 1960s, and it's sad to think that the intervening decades of war have changed the country and the city irrevocably.

Absolutely :'(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60830.20
ETH 2393.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63