Wie geht es dir Steemit community!!let me introduce myself My name is Alexia traveler from Germany

in #travel8 years ago

                         

I commenced touring solo about 10 years in the past, once I left home permanently, and that i’ve been exploring the sector ever due to the fact that. But, my story isn’t a regular blogger’s story… I didn’t sell the whole lot to tour due to the fact I had not anything to sell. I didn’t leave my boyfriend due to the fact I didn’t have a boyfriend. I also didn’t cease my task. How did it all manifest then?

Being born in Germany, to a regular, not wealthy family, I knew that I most likely wouldn’t be able to save up a lot and travel for a while. Neither it was something I wanted to do, as I wanted to go to school and work, rather than just taking a gap-year. I’ve learned a few foreign languages and focused on becoming a jack of all trades in order to make my skills marketable enough to live abroad. I used various opportunities to study abroad at world’s top universities and found serious jobs in many countries. I was also able to save up a bunch of money on the way. But it wasn’t all easy. I’ve been diagnosed with chronic diseases that prevent a lot of people from traveling, but it didn’t stop me.

Over 70 countries later I’m still exploring the world and not planning on stopping any time soon. I disagree that you cannot combine a serious job or hobby with adventure travels, especially being a female. For instance, while I was publishing my book on international law and completing my MA degree I was also bungy jumping, hiking volcanos and traveling solo around Africa. Who says I cannot combine crazy travels with other things?

                                       

I got to know the world by living in many different places and traveling to nearby locations. I’ve lived in Mexico City, Amsterdam, Cape Town, San Diego, Los Angeles, Boston, Mendoza and London. I’ve been studying various subjects, working in advertising, tourism, law, SEO, media and did a few other random things. Intrigued? You can read my full story in this blog later.

My blog is meant to show you my experiences and explain things I’m familiar with, such as spontaneous adventure travel, studying abroad  or volunteering. I want to inspire you to travel, live abroad even if you don’t think you can do it. You don’t have to be born in America, be very healthy, have much money or family’s support to do it all.

While I might seem to you like I’m a definite luxury traveler due to my love for dresses and heels, it doesn’t mean that I won’t sleep in the jungle when needed. I might stay at the 5* hotel one night, but I’d settle for a simple tree-house another day.

I’m currently based in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, but in fact I have many homes. Why Mexico? There are many things to do around here, like for instance hanging out with this little guy below… 

                         

You probably want to ask me now… How do I afford to travel?

While my blog is currently my main (but not the only) source of income it hasn’t always been that way. I’ve been on the road way before I started travel blogging – 8 years to be precise. If you’re curious how did I make it all happen read my article on how I afford to travel.

A lot of people ask me: aren’t you lonely on the road when traveling solo?

While I don’t always travel on my on anymore, 90% of my travels were solo. Yes, I’ve got lonely many times, but I’ve learned to make friends as I go. I’ve made a bunch of friends from universities, hostels, and even managed to get a boyfriend. Surprise!

Back in 2007, my old friends and family didn’t understand why I wanted to travel and live abroad. And I’m sure they thought I’d come back after a year or two. Traveling and living abroad provided me with many unexpected challenges and taught me to be more flexible with my expectations about the world.

                        

Some random facts about me:

  1. I speak English, Spanish, Polish, Italian and Dutch. I’m also proficient in French and German.
  2. I adore wildlife, but my favorite ones are penguins, wombats and dolphins. As a kid  I’ve had a miniature menagerie at home with all kinds of hamsters, rabbits, frogs, tortoises, cats and quails. Oh, I also had a pet duck! Growing up I got interested in wild animals, so when I got a chance I rode an ostrich, worked the lions, dived with crocodiles and great white sharks, pet giraffes and koalas and cuddled with other wildlife. Playing with penguins in Antarctica is still on top of my bucket list!
  3. I’m a big movie fan and I’ve recently become a fan of a few TV shows! I’ve always been passionate about cinema, so I try to visit different movie locations and meet movie stars whenever I can!
  4. I’ve been mistaken for Isla Fisher on several occasions. Thanks to that I got a free taxi ride, airport lounge access and vip boarding… can’t complain really!
  5. I do aerial acrobatics which means I love to hang from the hoop upside down, swing from a flying trapeze and play with silks up in the air. Check my Instagram if you’re unsure what exactly is it! Ah, and I also dance ballet sometimes.
  6. ( Feed me with ice cream, cheese and mushrooms and I’ll love you forever.)

                         

During my journey around the world I had a chance to study at:

  • Nicolaus Copernicus University in Torun (2007 – 2009), BA Inter-faculty Individual Studies in the Humanities, major in Cultural History
  • University College London (2009 – 2010), MA Dutch Studies\
  • Harvard University (2010), PGDipl in journalism – Feature Writing
  • University Iberoamericana in Mexico City (2011), PGDipl in Fashion Marketing
  • Oxford Brookes University (2012 – 2013), PGDipl in International Law & International Relations
  • Leiden University (2013-2014),  MA Latin American studies

Thanks for reading guys and happy weekend!!
Alexia 

#loveanimal #steemit


Sort:  

Hello Alexia, Welcome to Steemit! You look like you are living a really interesting life and speak a hell of a lot more languages than most people. This will be a great place for you. Make some posts about some of your most memorable experiences ! If you need anything you can always contact me on the slack!

Not so successful tits.

Oh... week ago for post like this you can receve 500-5000$, but you too late...

Congratulations @alexia.jenny! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53