You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: By train through Europe - 13th August - Sibiu

in #travel6 years ago

It still exists in some places. I can't remember where I've seen it this year. I would say Basel-Mulhouse and another place, possibly Amsterdam. The queue was inexistent there, while the All Passports was stacked. It consisted of self-scan and smile at the camera.

The Romanian borders by car are all OK. I've been through most, multiple times. There is no enmity as far as I can tell, but border guards are strict and unpleasant by definition. The general feeling towards Europeans is respect. But indeed, some strange individuals may exist.

But Croatia-Slovenia, I agree with you :) The only border where they were asking me things in Croatian and expecting a reply even though I told them I only speak English. He wouldn't give the car papers back until I answered him so I switched to Romanian and started asking him a series of questions. The border guards stopped, looked at me, gave me the papers and they let me go. I refuse to think they didn't know English or could understand Romanian.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79