Never stop exploring - Bellagio, Italy

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians!

Located in the north of Italy, Bellagio is the perfect place to visit if you want to enjoy the fresh air of the Alps.

Bellagio.jpg

This destination is perfect both for a day trip from Milano, but also for a whole vacation when you need to relax. It’s located on one of the most beautiful lakes in the whole world, Lake Como and it’s the first lake I ever visited in Italy, I also have on my list Lake Garda and Lake Maggiore.

I went here two months ago when my final destination was Morocco, but I wanted for a long time to visit this place and it was everything I imagined or more.

We visited Lake Como from Bergamo, from there we took the train for Varenna (I will make a post also about it) and then ferryboat for Bellagio.

But if you are in Milano and want to visit Lake Como, you should go to the Central Station and buy a ticket for Como S. Giovanni, it’s a train ride of only 40 minutes and you can find tickets with a price starting from 4€.

If you wish to visit Bellagio which I urge you to do, you should buy a train ticket for Varenna (takes approximately 1 hour) and then take the ferryboat (takes less than 20 minutes). You won’t regret it because Varenna is such a lovely village, actually I think I liked it more than Bellagio. The trip is very pleasant and the views are breathtaking.

It’s also considered the pearl of Como and has an aristocratic and classy vibe.

You can make some shopping in the fancy stores or simply walk relaxed the narrow streets. This region is known for its silk production, so there are decent prices for silk products.

I visited also the Church San Giacomo, built in XI century.

I saw some outdoor wood store, but I will write and share more about it, on a Friday for #marketfriday.

One of my favorite activities in Italy is eating gelato, so I couldn’t leave Bellagio without eating some, it was pretty good but the best I ate it in Florence.

In case you don’t know there are some celebrities that bought villas in this idyllic place such as George Clooney, Madonna, Donatella Versace and Sir Richard Branson.

I will definitely be back here for an entire city-break and who knows, maybe I will have the chance to run into George Clooney too. LOL

What I want to do my next time here:

  • take the funicular for killer views from above in Como-Brunate
  • In Tremezzo, at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo there is an amazing swimming pool that I need to try, so I know what I will be doing next time.
  • Attend at least one concert during Lake Como International Music Festival. More info, you can find here

Why to visit this city

  • reconnecting with nature
  • chillaxing
  • vibe

How to get from the airport to the city

Probably the best way is to fly to one of the three airports that Milano has (you can find my post here). From there, as I already mentioned you can take the train from Stazione Centrale Milano.

Accommodation

You can find plenty of hotels, but be aware that it’s more expensive than in Milano (Bellagio has an area of only 26 km2). The price for one night starts from 100 EUR.

When it’s the best time to visit

  • Spring

  • Summer

  • Early autumn

On winter is too cold. We visited on early March and we had a sunny day, as far as I know the place gets crowded on summertime so if you wish to avoid this, you should go at the end of August.

Did you know that?

Lake Como it’s one of the deepest lakes in the world.

What can you do here?

  • If you love water sports, it’s the perfect place. Check up this one

  • Shopping

  • Rent a Vespa/bike and explore the village

  • Visit Villa Serbelloni

  • Visit Villa Melzi d'Eril

  • Trekking

Day trips from Bellagio

  • Any other village you can visit.


Source

When you write a love story, let it be set among the banks of the Como Lake…
Franz Liszt

Have you visited Bellagio or another city near Lake Como? Did you like it?

Best regards,
@alexandraioana26

All rights reserved.

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Sort:  

One does not simply travel to Italy and not make this gesture
371.png

Beaitiful cities of Italy......trabelling is the source of soul satisfactions... I like to travell anywhere specially new places.... thanks for sharing your experience!

Thanks for reading it!

Few km out of Bellagio there is a beautiful view of the northern part of the town and the lake. But it requires the car. Unfortunately me and my friends we could not stop in Bellagio long because of the parking...however it was great you went by public transport and show the town. Beautiful quotation in your first photo :)

Great advice. Fortunately, that’s not a problem for you, because you can go any time.

classic vibes

Love it

Glad to hear that!!!

Looks beautiful and very European, narrow streets and lots of good food! I'd like to visit one day, maybe there's a silk maker I could team up with to make some new scarf designs

wow would be awesome, I will the first one to buy

If you ever bump into George Clooney, please let me know where...

For sure.... Sharing is caring!

didn't get the chance to visit all these wonderful lakes in italy.. Hope to be back very soon to europe, especially to ITaly ..

Fingers crossed sweetie

some really amazing clicks, you've truly captured the essence of the place :)

Glad you liked it. Wish u a great day!

Make beautiful posts.
Do you travel a lot?
Is that your job?

Thanks, Ionut. Unfortunately it’s not my job yet. ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66