I AMSTERDAM - The fabulous city perfect for a weekend break (Bonus some useful advice)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello there,

How is your day? Today is a sunny day in my city, but I kind of wish it was snowing, because it’s such a shame not to have a White Christmas...but maybe we'll have eventually.

Not long ago I was looking through my pictures because I have my Iphone storage almost full and saw the pictures I made in Amsterdam, made me miss the city, so this is why my post is about this beautiful city.

IMG_1924.JPG

Enjoying the sun
IMG_1892.JPG

I visited Amsterdam this summer, and I fell in love with the city vibe, so today is a good day to remember my experience here. I went with two other friends, actually we were four friends, but one of them could not join us… she got stuck at work.

So we flew from Bucharest to Brussels. After a brief sightseeing we took from there the bus to Amsterdam, this was the cheapest option, because from Bucharest there are no low-cost flights for Amsterdam. We gain some money, but we lost some precious time. I reckon for my next visit I will choose the plane, so I won’t lose time and get tired on the way.

The accommodation was a hostel boat, which offered small cabins, like really really small ones, never stayed in a room that small, fortunately I am not claustrophobic…. Lucky us, that the other friend could not make it, we were too many for such a tiny room…..joking…
The main advantage was the location, near the city center, like a 7-minute walk from Central Station and that we had breakfast every morning. The host was a super nice guy from Bulgaria, very friendly and helpful. The accommodation was quite expensive for its size, but overall we were pleased by its location and tasteful breakfast.

Advice: I recommend you to choose a city center accommodation even if it’s expensive, in this way you don’t lose time and money on the public transport.

After we left our luggage in our room, we went on discovering the city and watching an important football game in a pub, don’t remember the teams.
Science Center Nemo was like a 3-minute walk from our boat. This museum it’s great especially if you visit the city with your kids. There are some pretty interesting exhibits that are great both for the adults or children. It was a fun experience for us!

IMG_1783.JPG

Funny story: We randomly met with other friends, so the merrier, the better, that was a sweet coincidence. We went together to a pub and has some draught beer. A draught beer costs around € 3-4.

When the night came, of course we visited the Red Light District. Just before my trip I was reading about this city and I found out Red Light District it is one of the oldest parts of the city, kinda surprising.The fame of this neighborhood is caused by the brothels, sex workers in red-lit windows, sex shops. Amsterdam’s authorities offered to the sex workers a safe area to sell their services. I realized there are a lot of Romanian females working there...
During the day it is very pleasant, there are a lot o shops and restaurants.
Advice: You aren’t allowed to take pictures of the women.

My favorite girl
IMG_1933.JPG

The next day we visited Rijksmuesem, a museum which takes you on a journey through the art and history of Netherlands. The ticket costs € 17.50. Here I saw the biggest diamond I ever seen in my life.

Bling Bling
IMG_1809.JPG

Van Gogh a famous Dutch painter.
DSCN2820.JPG

A lovely piano
IMG_1831.JPG

Another beautiful piano
DSCN2853.JPG

Beautiful, just beautiful
DSCN2839.JPG
One of my next year resolution will be learning to play this instrument

Advice: In order to avoid the crowds, it is better to visit before 11.00 am or after 14.00.

After walking down the streets, we reached to Vondelpark, biggest park in the city and most known Dutch park. We sat on the grass and enjoyed the sun.
Advice: You can eat your brunch in this lovely park.

DSCN2868.JPG

DSCN2873.JPG

DSCN2874.JPG

I forgot to tell you an important thing: every step you make, every breath you take, it smells like weed. We didn’t experienced any weed products, not even space cakes, we are too dutiful.
I quit smoking cigars four years ago so I wasn’t attracted in trying, neither my friends, but we really enjoyed the city.

Before my trip here, I read The Anne Frank journal. Anne tells the story about her life before war, during the war and how she would like to be her life after the war is ended. It’s a heartbreaking book.
She was so smart and mature, a really remarkable girl. Unfortunately she died just before the war ended, after she succeeded hiding along 7 other people. She hidden with her family and other two families for two years, before Nazis found them. The only survivor was her father, who published her diary. In this museum you can find some of their personal belongings.
Actually this was my main reason, getting to know the city where Anne Frank lived. It was a remarkable experience to visit her house, I was so touched.

FullSizeRender(5).jpg

Advice: You need to buy your ticket online, there are huge queues and you must not have large bags. Also you are not allowed to take pictures.

Koninklijk Paleis is a palace served as Amsterdam’s town hall and today it serves as a source of education on famous painters for visitors.
IMG_2001.JPG

You can’t be in Amsterdam and miss the flower market which was first opened in 1862 and from then has gain major reputation. You can buy a lot of types of flowers, bulbs, seeds, gardening tools or essentials. Bonus it’s open from Monday-Sunday! Also there you can find a lot of souvenirs and magnets. From here I bought the gifts for my dear ones.

IMG_2010.JPG

IMG_2009.JPG

The city seen from above
IMG_1947.JPG
Every city I visit, I make sure to see it from above.

As a bonus I did a little shopping in one of my favorite shops, Primark. I didn't know there is a store opened here, but I was really excited as the shop is kinda huge.

Colorful and popular pub
IMG_1764(1).JPG

I tasted a lot of gouda cheese , traditional cheese from the Netherlands town of Gouda, different flavors like Coconut cheese, Pesto cheese,Herbs & Garlic, Truffle. My favorite is definitely the one with herbs and garlic!

IMG_2011.JPG

I even saw how it's made and learned about the history of this popular cheese.

IMG_2020.JPG

Interesting facts:

  • There are 165 canals in Amsterdam

IMG_1737.JPG

  • Around 25.000 bicycles end up in canals each year.

  • Around 881,000 bicycles in the city.

Me and a lot of bicycles on a windy day
IMG_1941.JPG

  • 20,000,000 tourists and day-trippers who visit the city in a year.

  • There are more bridges than Venice.

IMG_2074.JPG

  • I am tall girl, but I found out that Dutch people are the tallest people in the world, so maybe it's a sign and I need to move here.

I love you Amsterdam, see you soon!
IMG_2031.JPG

Some tourists think Amsterdam is a city of sin, but in truth it is a city of freedom. And in freedom, most people find sin.
John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

Dead people receive more flowers than the living ones because the regret is stronger than gratitude.
Anne Frank

Hope you liked my post.
Feel free to follow me, upvote and resteem my post.
Thank you.
Until soon,
Xo A

Sources:

Sort:  

Great and Beautifull Pictures Taken.

Love to Amsterdam,

PS: You favorite Girl Photo is a great one:P

Love,

DoWithLove

haha thank you @dowithlove! cheers

@alexandraioana26 - I think your career is secure! You're our regular tour guide right here on steemit!

I wouldn't mind at all! cheers :D

You are hereby duly Appointed! ;)

I would like to visit Amsterdam. Great photos!

when you are using busy tag, you have to post on busy.org site.

Amsterdam seems nice but if you weren't in the photos showing it , then it wouldn't have something attractive to see in it...

hihi that's so sweet! cheers @giosou!

Beautiful Adventure! Look at all those bikes! I had buddies live in Amsterdam and they talked about the bicycles, but wow there are a lot of bikes.

There is a place in Amsterdam called BoomChicago. It is an improv comedy theater. If you ever swing by there again, they do phenomenal fun time shows.

Thanks for sharing and happy travels!

Thank you for ur advice. I ll make sure to pay a visit to BoomChicago!
Have a wonderful day @jacobts!

This post was great. There was a ton of information in here. Also, great photos :)

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Really amazing post and a well deserved feature! Keep it up!

wow
that's my second time
that's amazing! thank u so much!

@steemitworldmap
sorry to bother, I have a problem i tried to pin on the map my latest post (https://steemit.com/travel/@alexandraioana26/say-yes-to-postcard-perfection-cinque-terre-italy-some-useful-tips), but it doesn't work....i tried several times... it's something I can do?

Thanks
looking forward for your answer

No worries at all, we're currently experiencing a few technical problems, I reckon they will be fixed soon-ish! All posts that didn't get added should be added then!

Okay I ll check it up later
i thought i did something wrong, tried several times...
i ll wait
thank u for your prompt answer @martibis!

nice... i am from Holland... and i see Amsterdam different :-)

There is a lot more in holland than Amsterdam ;-)

You should see Giethoorn (The venice of Holland)

nice pictures!

I heard about Giethoorn, it is so romantic and beautiful.
I plan to discover more, maybe when I ll have the chance to visit Holland again you could help me with some tips!
thank u! cheers @erikbolding!

Amsterdam is so awsome!!
I was there last saturday, but we didn't visit that beautiful park.
I live in The Netherlands but stil i have never been in the park.
Very beautiful pictures!!
Have a nice day!!

Than u so much for reading my post! have a wonderful day you too!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=alexandraioana26
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=i-amsterdam-the-fabulous-city-perfect-for-a-weekend-break


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87